:::

Database / Anderson Ranch Arts Center

back

Anderson Ranch Arts Center

USA / Colorado
Established 1966

  • Anderson Ranch Arts Center - Exhibition
  • Anderson Ranch Arts Center - Artist
  • Anderson Ranch Arts Center - Gallery
  • Anderson Ranch Arts Center - Activity
  • Anderson Ranch Arts Center
Anderson Ranch is an international center for the creation of new work and untried art forms for leading artists of the time. Artists of all levels and ages come here every summer for the opportunity to uncover, develop and stretch their creative spirits. Anderson Ranch Arts Center offers the opportunity to learn, create and become more.

The campus is in the heart of the mountain resort community of Snowmass Village, ten miles from Aspen, Colorado. Some of the Ranch's structures are renovated log cabins and barns, which are believed to be the oldest in the area. These buildings sit alongside contemporary studio buildings that create a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.

There are 14 buildings on the 4.5 acre campus. The 55,000 square feet of facilities includes 8 studio buildings, a lecture hall, café, administrative office spaces, two galleries and an 18-room dormitory (30 student capacity) as well as four single-family homes and three apartments for artistic staff.




Who’s Been There


WANG Shin-Yu
Taking and Giving (series)
  • WANG Shin-Yu's Art Work
  • WANG Shin-Yu's Art Work Detail
  • WANG Shin-Yu's Art Work Exhibition
  • WANG Shin-Yu's Exhibition
WANG Shin-Yu, graduated from Tainan National University of the Arts in 2002. She is a professional ceramic artist. She curated several projects in Yingge Ceramic Museum and had residency in Baltimore Clayworks, Jam Factory, Anderson Ranch Arts Center, and Banff Art Center.

Being in a foreign environment is influential to an artist’s practice because it forces the artist to break away from his or her usual ways of thinking. Through distance and self-identification, what the artist experiences during his or her residency abroad slowly affects the way future works are created.

Artist Statement:



Clay has always been the medium through which I hope to express my ideas. I condense all of my emotions – happiness, anger, love, and hate – into the movements of pinching and shaping clay. Abstract thoughts are materialized through the process of firing. Artists who work in ceramics are often bound by the techniques and limitations of the material. I had wonderful experiences during this residency at Anderson Ranch Arts Center and had overcome many material limitations. I also met many artists who used the same material as I did and saw how cultural differences affected artists’ attitudes toward that same material. It was interesting observing all of this. I began thinking about whether I treated ceramics discreetly, as in the Eastern frame of mind, or casually, as from the Western perspective.



Anderson Ranch Arts Center is located in the Rocky Mountains. It is near the famous vacation destination Aspen, Colorado and shares the same high standard and cost of living as Aspen. Local residents are extremely interested in the activities organized by the center and participate in almost every program arranged.



During my short stay, I gained the most not from breakthroughs in techniques, but from cultural conflicts. These conflicts helped me to understand my own culture. Such valuable cultural awareness was invisible in its form, but would affect an artist for a long time.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 安德森牧場藝術中心

回上一頁

安德森牧場藝術中心

美國 / 科羅拉多州
創立時間 1966

  • 安德森牧場藝術中心 展覽
  • 安德森牧場藝術中心 藝術家工作室
  • 安德森牧場藝術中心 藝廊
  •  安德森牧場藝術中心 活動
  • 安德森牧場藝術中心
安德森牧場為國際藝術中心,讓一時之選的優秀藝術家來創造新作品、實驗前所謂見的藝術形式。每年夏天,不分領域與年紀的藝術家前來探索、發展,在牧場學習、創造、進步。

牧場位於科羅拉多州的雪道村。部分牧場建築為翻新的小木屋和榖倉,是全區最古老的建築,就坐落在當代工作室旁邊,創造出舒適的氛圍。

牧場上有14棟建築,含8棟工作室、演講廳、咖啡廳、行政辦公室、藝廊和宿舍(18間臥室共可容納30人),另有4間家庭房,和3間工作人員室。




駐村心得


王幸玉
<捨得十態> 系列
  • 王幸玉展覽
  • 王幸玉作品細節
  • 王幸玉作品
  • 王幸玉作品展覽
王幸玉,2002年畢業於國立臺南藝術學院應用藝術研究所,現為專業創作者。曾在鶯歌陶瓷博物館、景德鎮樂天陶社陶瓷藝術中心擔任策展人;在美國馬里蘭州巴爾地摩陶瓷藝術中心、澳洲JamFactory工藝設計中心、美國安德森牧場藝術中心、加拿大班福藝術中心擔任駐村藝術家。

她說,異地而處脫離慣性的思維,對一個創作者的影響是珍貴且深遠的。透過距離的洗滌自我認同的強化,駐村的經驗慢慢的在日後的創作裡慢慢地發酵。



駐村心得:

“『土』一直是我表現想法的工具,直接的將種種喜怒愛嗔濃縮在其間手指揉捏、撥劃的動作之間,通過火的煅煉,將無形的思想透過『土』來形體化。土的創作者往往受到材料與技術的限制,對於創作的表現因而受到侷限,透過這一次交流的機會讓我有美好的經驗,能突破自己慣用的材料與技法,並也遇見到許許多多相同使用這個材料的創作者,看見不同的人因為經驗與文化的差異,對於使用這個材料來做創作,表現出孑然不同的態度。這樣的經驗是有趣的,在反觀自己創作上面對這個材料的態度,是像西方思維中的隨性或是像東方思維的謹慎?值得深思。



美國科羅拉多州安德森牧場藝術中心位於落磯山脈的山脈上,鄰近有遠近馳名的度假勝地ASPEN,造就了高消費及高品味的生活環境,鄰境的居民對於藝術村所舉辦的活動有高度的興趣,居民的參與活絡藝術村的每一場活動。



在這一次短暫的旅程當中,我想收穫最大的,並不是在材料上或是技術成面的突破,而是透過文化差異所產生的衝突,進而察覺自身的文化特質,這樣的價值是無形的,但卻是對一個創作者產生深遠的影響。"