:::

About

back

 

Since 2000, the Ministry of Culture (then Council of Cultural Affairs) has engaged in cultural diplomacy by partnering with artist villages in the USA, France, Australia and the Czech Republic. Several Taiwanese artists are selected each year and receive funding to go abroad on residency exchange, enabling them to find inspiration in a different cultural setting. In 2001, Taipei Artist Village was established and became the first public-funded artist village in Taiwan. Over the last decade or so, several private organizations and local governments have begun to utilize idle space to run artist villages, and they are now playing a key role in cultural exchange and mobilizing artistic energy in the local community. Artists and the public and private sectors are now attaching more and more importance to the multi-faceted value of artist villages, and more residency-based exchange programs are taking roots all over Taiwan.

 

By establishing the "Arts Residency Network, Taiwan", a bilingual, easy-to-understand website, the Ministry of Culture aims to compile information on local and international artist villages and provide an platform for exchange and services for local and international artists, curators and arts and cultural institutions. The platform will also be a place for the Ministry to explain its relevant policies and grants to the public. In addition, a databank of artists who have participated in residencies abroad over the years as part of the platform will give insight to the actual benefits of international artist villages and artistic exchange. By sharing their residency experience, returning artists will be able to encourage other artists in need to apply for international programs, thereby broadening their horizon, enriching their creative energy and together galvanizing the growth of Taiwan's arts and cultural sector.

 

How did artist villages come about?

 

The idea of an artist village or "artist-in-residency" originated in Europe when aristocrats invited artists and writers to engage in creative work. Together, they discuss the meaning of life and also use this as a form of entertainment. After the 19th century, large enterprises, schools or foundations provided space and funding and encouraged artist to take residencies, thus bringing different inspirations to an era of burgeoning industrial development.

 

Toward the end of the 20th century, international travel became more and more convenient and artists from different countries began moving about the globe in their search for new cultural experience and creative inspiration. Artist villages gradually became important venues for international cultural exchange. Emerging new forms of experimental work and information caught the eyes of curators, turning artist villages into key hubs of information exchange. Furthermore, artist villages are no longer confined to a set time and space defined by the funding provider; they expanded to include community environments created by artists who share the same values or small artist-run spaces. Artists and many art projects wander between different regions, producing new creative energy within different cultural settings.

 

In the 21st century, the term "artist village" can no longer encompass the diverse facets of artist-in-residency programs. Key residency organizations worldwide like Res Artis (Europe), Trans Artists (Netherlands), Alliance of Artists Communities (USA) and Triangle Network (UK) are also broadening their definitions of "artist-in-residency". Residencies are no longer just about a space to move in and create; more and more emphasis is now being placed on the positive energy generated through cross-regional and cross-disciplinary dialogues and exchange between artists.

:::

關於進駐網

回上一頁

我國自2000年開始,文化部(文建會時期)以文化內容進行國民外交,與美國、法國、澳洲、捷克等地的藝術村結盟,每年徵選、補助多位藝術家出國進行駐村交流,讓他們在異文化中激發更多創作靈感。隨著2001年國內第一個公辦藝術村—臺北國際藝術村的出現,在這十餘年的期間裏陸續有民間團體、地方縣市政府利用閒置空間,進行藝術村的規劃和營運,讓藝術村在各地扮演文化交流、引動在地藝術活水的重要角色。藝術村的多元價值愈來愈受藝文創作者與公私立單位的重視,更多藝術進駐的交流計畫在國內各地萌芽與轉動。

 

文化部期望透過「藝術進駐網」的建置,彙整國內與國外藝術村資訊,以簡便明瞭的網站規劃以及雙語資訊,提供國內外藝術家、策展人及藝文相關機構等交流管道與服務。此外,這個平台也將具體說明文化部對於藝術村的相關政策與獎助,並透過歷年參與計畫的藝術家資料庫建置,介紹國際藝術村、藝術交流之實質效益,經由回國藝術家駐村經驗與心得的分享,鼓勵有需求的藝術創作者申請出國駐村、開拓視野、豐富創作能量,刺激並活絡臺灣的藝文環境與成長。

 

為什麼會有藝術村?

 

起源於歐洲的藝術村(Artist-in-residency),原為貴族邀請藝文創作者在其莊園裡進行創作、發表之形式,共同討論生命意義、增添生活樂趣,19世紀以後,大型企業、學校或基金會,提供空間和資金,鼓勵藝文創作者進駐,對當時大肆擴張的工業發展帶來不同的啟發。

 

20世紀末期,隨著國際交通便捷,不同國籍的藝術家在各地遊走,尋找新的文化體驗和創作刺激,藝術村逐漸成為國際文化交流的重要場所;其潛藏著各種新型態實驗創作及資訊,吸引策展人注目,藝術村更成為藝術資訊交換的重要場域。此外,藝術村的型態不再拘泥於由出資者設定的時間與空間,或是志同道合藝術家所創造的群聚環境,或是藝術家主持的小型藝術空間油然而生,藝術家與許多藝術計畫在不同的區域間遊走,在不同的文化背景中激盪新的創意能量。

 

到了21世紀,藝術村的多元樣貌已經無法再用「藝術村」這三個字含括。國際上有關藝術村的重要組織,包括Res Artis(歐洲)、Trans Artists(荷蘭)、Alliance of Artists’ Community (美國)和Triangle Network(英國)對藝術村的定義也越來越廣,藝術村並非只單純提供進駐與創作,更注重藝術創作者跨地區、跨領域的對話、交流及相互影響所帶來的正面能量。