:::

Database / Vermont Studio Center

back

Vermont Studio Center

USA / Vermont
Established 1984

  • Vermont Studio Center's Space
  • Vermont Studio Center's Studio
  • Vermont Studio Center's Building Exterior
  • Vermont Studio Center's Artist
  • Vermont Studio Center's Park
Founded by artists in 1984, the Vermont Studio Center (VSC) is the largest international artists' and writers' Residency Program in the United States, hosting 50 visual artists and writers each month from across the country and around the world.

Located in the northern Vermont mill village of Johnson, (pop. 3,450), the Vermont Studio Center resides in the heart of the Green Mountains, a beautiful and pastoral region in the northeastern United States.

The Center’s 30 historic buildings are all situated along the banks of the Gihon River. VSC buildings are within walking distance of each other and the center of the village.




Who’s Been There


TSAI Chueh-Lin
http://www.youtube.com/user/boxlady

Traveling Pause
  • TSAI Chueh-Lin's Studio
  • TSAI Chueh-Lin Photo
Tsai Chueh-Lin had M.F.A.from Department of New Media Art, Taipei National University of the Arts in 2007. Her artwork "Traveling Pulse" (2012) is collected by Cultural Affairs Department, New Taipei City Government. She had residency experience in Anderson Ranch Art Center in 2010, Vermont Studio Center in 2011. And she owns an art team "Wandering Cloud" situated in Treasure Hill Artist-in-Residency since 2012 in Taipei.

Artist Statement:

Short films and animation are my main working media in art. I use images and screenplay to reinterpret the essence of life. My motivation for creativity comes from fears and challenges faced in different stages of my life.



My work functions outside the frame of ‘series’ and ‘single mediums’ and attempts to tell stories utilizing different elements. In 2010, I began A Birthday Party Project and set out to showcase my works regularly every year. Through this project, I hope my viewers could feel as comfortable going to an exhibition as attending a birthday party. I want them to instinctively feel what the artists want to convey in their works.



Some people are forced to explore the essence of life through events like rebellions, mid-life crisis, and infidelity, etc. I, on the other hand, conduct my own self reflection through making art. With exhibitions, as a form of sharing, I pass on the positive energy of overcoming fears in life to others.





As an artist, I needed an additional everyday job to support myself. Participating in the artist-in-residency programs frees me of the livelihood problems and allows me to work whole-heartedly without distractions in a studio of my own. Opportunities to work with other artists in residence present themselves right before my eyes. A residency environment, to me, is like a room for meditation. In this empty, simple room, I am able to roam the calmest fields in my best state of mind and be inspired by the deepest creative powers within my soul. Furthermore, artists from all over the world could help stimulate new thoughts and ideas, and free me from the limits of simply working with my familiar medium.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 佛蒙特藝術中心

回上一頁

佛蒙特藝術中心

美國 / 佛蒙特州
創立時間 1984

  • 佛蒙特藝術中心工作室
  • 佛蒙特藝術中心空間
  • 佛蒙特藝術中心建築外觀
  • 佛蒙特藝術中心藝術家
  • 佛蒙特藝術中心園區
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
佛蒙特藝術村由藝術家於1984年創建,是美國規模最大的國際藝術家與作家駐村計畫,每個月接待50位來自全美與全球的視覺藝術家與作家。

佛蒙特藝術村位於佛蒙特州北部的強森市,坐落綠山山脈之間,田園景光,景致宜人。

佛蒙特藝術村30棟歷史性建築位於城區內,沿著Gihon河岸而建,彼此距離皆步行可達。




駐村心得


蔡珏伶
http://www.youtube.com/user/boxlady

<旅行脈動>
  • 蔡珏伶工作室
  • 蔡珏伶照片
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
蔡珏伶,2007年畢業於國立臺北藝術大學新媒體藝術學系,獲數位藝術碩士。作品《旅行脈動》,由新北市政府文化局典藏。2010年前往安德森牧場藝術中心駐村、2011年在 Vermont Studio Center駐村兩個月,2013年以自創團隊【行雲朵朵】在寶藏巖國際藝術村進行駐地計畫。

駐村心得:

我主要創作媒材為短片和動畫,善於利用影像、編劇重新詮釋生命的本質,創作的動力來自於跨越生命中每階段面臨人生課題的恐懼。



作品跳脫系列、單一媒材的框架,針對不同的議題,嘗試用不同的元素去說故事,我從2010年期許自己每年有規律的發表創作,稱為「生日派對計畫」,希望觀眾看展覽的經驗像參加生日派對一樣的自在,用直覺去感受創作者想傳達的。



我認為有些人透過叛逆、中年危機、外遇…不得不面對生命本質的探索,我則是用創作幫助自己更快速進入自我審視的狀態,且透過展覽分享的概念,把跨越恐懼正向的力量傳出去。



現實生活狀態,我必須有另一份工作支持我的生活收入,駐村讓我不需要為生計問題感到焦慮,且有屬於自己的工作室,可以無干擾的全心創作,同時間還有很多不同創作類型的藝術家,許多合作機會就在眼前,駐村的環境對我來說就像你進入一間簡單沒有過多佈置的冥想室,你可以在空蕩的房間遨遊在心靈寧靜的最佳狀態,很容易激發出自己內心最深沈的創作能量,且來自世界各地不同的藝術家,可以為自己的創作形態一直注入新的合作因素,讓自己的創作不再受限於自己熟悉的媒材。