Artists

Photo Credit: NIU Chun-Chiang

LEE Jo-Mei

LEE Jo-Mei's Art Work
LEE Jo-Mei's Art Work Photo
LEE Jo-Mei's Art Work Detail
LEE Jo-Mei's Exhibition
LEE Jo-Mei's Studio

LEE Jo-Mei

Location Australia / Sydney
Residency Artspace
Year of the Grant 2015
Work Some Studies on Blue
Personal Website LEE Jo-Mei's Personal Website
LEE Jo Mei, born in 1985 in Taipei, Taiwan, graduated from the Department of Fine Arts at National Taiwan University of the Arts. She currently lives and works in Taipei, Taiwan.

The concept the artist’s practice illustrates perception and its transformation throughout the daily experience so as to depict how we gaze on the texture of everyday life to explore the sense of memory’s own landscape. By using various methods and media to process memory through recording and transformation, it allows our accustomed experiences to be subjected to change or its original orders to be altered, thereby rebuilding the possibility of review. In this way, it presents the particular poetic lyric in the artworks.

Recent selected group shows include “The Lost Garden”, Eslite Gallery (2014), “2012 Keywords— Asynchronous Lifeworld”, Juming Museum (2012) and “Mark”, Crane gallery(2016). She was also invited to join shows or residency programs in France, Japan, Thailand and Australia.

Thoughts on the Residency Program:

Over this brief two-month trip, I felt unprecedentedly free and driven. To have such wonderful results and joy, I believe, was largely related to the magical country of Australia. During my residency program at Artspace in Sydney, I started with observing and drawing surrounding natural landscape and its purity. Then, I adopted a series of methods to examine nature, developing creative formats and scope of concerns different from before.

The “Some Studies on Blue” project focuses on Blue Mountains that shield over the west end of suburban Sydney, conducing a series of image developments centering on a number of keywords, such as blue, blue haza, and Eucalyptus. Before I entered Blue Mountains, I studied the history of pioneers, and imagined their perspectives when they first came to and explored through this unknown continent. As for myself, also a foreigner, how will I depict what I see?

Blue Mountains’ “blueness,” due to the distance as well as the effect of the Eucalyptus, the plant’s oil vaporizes into air, visually creates a blue landscape, and releases a unique scent. Therefore, I tried to analyze this “blueness” in a romantic way, incorporated it into my paintings, my imagination of the blue haza, and the actual experience of my hiking in the Blue Mountains. Through microscopic and enlarged visual effects and varying distances, I created faithful depictions, captured the scents, layered mental and physical landscapes, and experimented with visual barriers formed by everyday materials. Ultimately, all these things I have done were included in “Some Studies on Blue,” which is the fruit of my residency program, and exhibited in the “Considerate Creations” (2015.10.31 – 2015.11.29) held at Taipei Artist Village.

駐村藝術家

圖片來源:駐村藝術家 牛俊強

李若玫

李若玫展覽
李若玫作品
李若玫作品細節
李若玫工作室
李若玫作品照片

李若玫

駐村地 澳洲 / 雪梨
藝術村 藝術空間
個人網站 李若玫個人網站
李若玫,1985年生於臺灣臺北,畢業於國立臺灣藝術大學美術學系碩士班,現居住與工作於臺灣臺北。

李若玫的創作主要來自於個人日常經驗的感受及其轉換,自事物尋常紋理及細節的凝視與反覆描畫中,尋找觸知的記憶風景。善於運用不同的手法與媒材來進行紀錄、轉化,讓這些習以為常的事物產生變化,滑移出原先的秩序,再塑其重新被觀看的可能,作品帶有特殊的詩性。近年重要聯展於朱銘美術館、誠品畫廊、弔詭畫廊;亦曾受邀於法國、日本、泰國、澳洲參與聯展與駐村計畫。

創作自述:

此行短短兩個月間,我感受到一種從未獲至的自由與驅力,我認為能夠擁有這般收穫與喜悅,很大部分與澳洲這個魔幻國度有關。於雪梨Artspace的進駐期間,我由對周遭自然景物及其純粹性的觀察速寫開始,展開一連串透視自然的方法,發展出別與以往的創作型態及思考關注方面。

《一些關於藍的研究》(Some Studies on Blue)這個計畫以雪梨近郊西部屏障的藍山地區(Blue Mountains)作為研究對象,圍繞著藍山、藍色(Blue)、藍霧(Blue Haza)、尤加利(Eucalyptus)幾個關鍵字來進行一系列「影像顯影」的工作。在進入藍山前,我透過觀看歷史先人的穿越史蹟,去想像這些人在「進入」、「穿越」這片未知大陸時的視點;而我,同樣身為一位外來者,又該如何去描繪我的觀看?

「藍山」的「藍」除了距離作用,也因為當地廣佈原生的尤加利植披,其精油在空氣中蒸散,造成視覺上的藍色映像與其特殊氣味瀰漫。因此,我嘗試以一種浪漫的方式來解析這個「藍」,將對藍霧的想像與於藍山山區實地行走的經驗入畫。透過微觀及放大、趨近忽遠的視覺方法,進行著如實的描繪、氣味捕捉、心理及實物風景疊映、日常生活物質組合的視覺屏障實驗等等研究。最後,這些種種匯結成《一些關於藍的研究》一作而成為此駐村的階段性成果,並於臺北國際藝術村《溫柔的產出》(2015.10.31-2015.11.29)一展中展出。