:::

Database / Pier-2 Art Center

back

Pier-2 Art Center

Taiwan / Kaohsiung
Established 2015

  • Pier-2 Art Center's Aerial Photography
  • Pier-2 Art Center's Event
  • Pier-2 Art Center's Artist
  • Pier-2 Art Center's Entrance
  • Pier-2 Art Center's Studio
Pier-2 Art Center, which refers to Pier No. 2 in Basin No. 3 of Kaohsiung Harbor, was built in 1973 as common port warehouses. They were once abandoned and buried in history due to the city move from an industrial based to the service sector. It was for the celebration of National Day in 2000 that the central government for the first time decided to release fireworks in southern Taiwan, and Kaohsiung became the selected. Thus, the organizers re-discovered these Pier-2 warehouses just beside the harbor. Later in 2001, a group of passionate local artists established the Pier-2 Artistic Development Association, aiming this center to be the headquarter for artistic development in southern Taiwan.

In 2006, Bureau of Cultural Affairs of Kaohsiung City Government took over and became the management entity. Ever since, the center has positioned itself as an international art platform, oriented toward avant-garde, experiment and originality, open to creators all over the world, making the region a place where tourists and locals come together to enjoy fine art. With the collision of an old area and new fine art, this center thus transforms itself into an art venue representative in Taiwan, an art area full of new vitality and liveliness.

Nurtured by the city, the center has its dialogues with histories of commercial harbor, iron and steel, shipbuilding and shipbreaking, and has constantly held art events or even festivals in response to these characteristics. “Pier-2 Artists in Residence Program” (PAIR) was thus initiated in 2015, aiming to bring in more art perspectives and practices that may recall beyond.

Open call is released to all artists from every June to August. With the evaluation of the committee along with the exchange program, PAIR receives about 25 artists every year from all over the world to make art happen in this beautiful center. Artists will also have the chance to hold workshops or deliver speeches in schools and communities, and to present their art practice in the exhibition venue.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 駁二藝術特區

回上一頁

駁二藝術特區

臺灣 / 高雄
創立時間 2015

  • 駁二藝術特區空拍照
  • 駁二藝術特區活動
  • 駁二藝術特區藝術家
  • 駁二藝術特區入口
  • 駁二藝術特區工作室
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
「駁二藝術特區」,坐落於高雄港區第二號接駁碼頭,係國內唯一臨港、最具代表性的藝術舞台。其倉庫群建於1973年,原為一般港口儲貨倉庫,因城市重工產業轉型,一度遭遺忘閒置。2000年,為國慶雙十煙火南下高雄施放、尋覓適當地點,人們發現港口旁駁二倉庫的存在,熱心熱血的地方藝文人士遂於2001年成立駁二藝術發展協會,催生推動「駁二藝術特區」作為南部人文藝術發展的基地。

2006年,高雄市政府文化局接管經營,進而定位為國際交流平台,面向前衛、實驗和創意,邀請世界各地的藝術及設計創作者為這塊土地注入靈感和創造力,構築海港城市的魅力與生活美學─老社區與藝術相互碰撞火花,在舊與新的衝突中,衝撞出勃發的生命力。
過去13年間,遵循著城市過去作為商業港口,孕育鋼鐵工業、造船拆船等產業背景脈絡,以海港工業城市養分為基底,駁二藝術特區不斷舉辦各式展演活動與藝術節慶呼應城市精神,更在2015年起推動「駁二藝術家進駐計畫(PAIR)」,期許透過國際藝術交流與串聯,積極開啟藝術家與在地居民的對話,推動市民生活美學,扶植藝文工作者執行在地研究與創作,進而深化駁二自身與地方、與國際間的藝文連結。

「駁二藝術家進駐計畫(PAIR)」每年6月至8月線上公開徵件,以內外聘委員會審查機制決定年度進駐創作者。每年約25位來自海內外的藝術家進駐駁二創作,也同時進入校園或社區策辦工作坊、講座等,並於駐村期滿展出研究成果。