:::

Database / Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten

back

Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten

Netherlands / Amsterdam
Established 1870

  • Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten's Exhibiting
  • Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten's Equipment
  • Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten's Building
  • Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten's Studio
  • Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten's Artist
  • Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten's Exhibition
The Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten in Amsterdam selects exceptionally talented artists and offers them high quality artistic, technical and theoretical facilities. Research, experiment and developing innovative art practices are of central importance.

The resident artist can dispose over a worldwide network of contacts maintained by the Rijksakademie. Amsterdam functions as a hub for the Dutch and international art field that continues to gain artistic, social and economic significance through existing connections and the fusing of new partnerships.

The Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten was established in 1870 by King Willem III as the successor to the Koninklijke Akademie van Beeldende Kunsten which was founded as a national academy by Royal Decree in 1817.

Practical facilities such as a studio, living accommodation, a scholarship and a work budget form the basis, but the Rijksakademie is more than a residency: concentration on work, experimentation, reflection and discussion are central.

The residents receive critical support at the highest artistic, technical and theoretical level. Internationally active artists, theoreticians and other advisors pay individual studio visits. The advisors come from different continents, cultures and generations, and offer a wide variety of views. They reflect the diversity of contemporary art practice.

esident artists work in an individual studio surrounded by approximately 50 peers from all over the world and have ongoing dialogues with a group of prominent artists and (art) professionals connected to the Rijksakademie as advisors. Ideas can be developed in co-operation with a team of interdisciplinary technical specialists in well-equipped technical workshops. Furthermore there is a Theory workshop offering a specialized art library, (historical) collections as well as a program with seminars and discussions related to topics arising from the artist community.

There is no program, no prevailing stylistic approach or ideology. The Rijksakademie offers support and opportunities.

Technical specialists manage professionally equipped workshops where artists can work and experiment with traditional and contemporary materials and techniques. In response to an individual artist’s requirements, collaboration and unexpected connections arise between the various disciplines. Facilitators support the resident artists with the practical aspects of the work process within and outside the Rijksakademie.

The Rijksakademie has a specialized public library and administers contemporary and historical collections. The theory workshop serves as a base for developing activities which promote discussion and debate.
The Rijksakademie is also a platform for pioneering initiatives and collaborations in the field of art and science. Artists develop projects in dialogue with specialists from diverse scientific and scholarly disciplines.
Taiwanese artists who have participated in this program are Tsui Kuang Yu(崔廣宇) (resident 2006-2007), Chen, Yin-Ju (陳瀅如) (resident 2010-2011), Wu, Chi-Yu (吳其育) (resident 2014-2015), Wang, Pei-Hsuan (王佩瑄) (ACC guest resident 2019) and Lo, Sheng-Wen (羅晟文) (resident 2019-2020).




Who’s Been There


  • Chen Yin-Ju's Studio
  • Chen Yin-Ju's Art Work
  • Chen Yin-Ju's Studio Photo
  • Chen Yin-Ju's Art Work Exhibition
CHEN Yin-Ju’s principle creative medium is video. Her works include mixed media, painting, photography, printmaking, and action art. In the past, her creative works focused on issues related to the power structure in society—nationalism, racism, and collective (un)consciousness. In recent years, she has gradually incorporated space science and mysticism into her creative concepts for the imagination and consideration of the connection and relation between the universe and current situation of men.

Chen has participated in major international and domestic exhibitions and film festivals, including “The 4th Taiwan International Video Art Exhibition 2014: The Return of Ghosts”, “A Journal of the Plague Year. Fear, Ghosts, Rebels. SARS, Leslie, and the Hong Kong Story” (Para/Site, 2013), Taipei Biennial (2012), International Film Festival Rotterdam (2011), European Media Art Festival (2011), Queen Sofia Arts Center in Madrid (Spain, 2009), International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (the Netherlands, 2008), and San Francisco International Asian American Film Festival (2006). Chen was an artist-in-residence at Rijkasakademie van beeldende kunsten in Amsterdam, Holland. She currently lives and works in Taiwan.

Thoughts on Residency Program:

Abundant Resources

My residency program at Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten was the longest residency I’ve been on. The organization of the residency program provided artists all basic costs during the residency, including rents, allowances for living expenses, expenses on creative materials, and additional creative subsidies. Rijksakademie also has versatile facilities, with workshops for carpentry, metalsmithing, printmaking, ceramics, painting, and multimedia. At each workshop, technicians provide supports and instructions. Basically, almost all the ideas and experiments of artists can be realized after discussions with the technicians, regardless of how imaginative the projects may be.

Rijksakademie is a place for experiments, and provides artists-in-residence a worry-free creative environment with full technical support. With its two-year long residency program, Rijksakademie really hopes that the artists can devote their time to more experiments and explorations. Since all studios of artists are inside the building, thus, dialogues between the artists are also important to creative practices; after all, studios are not just a place for work, but also the place where dialogues are generated. This is one of the biggest strengths of Rijksakademie. Over twenty artists from different countries and backgrounds come here every year, making it a valuable space and opportunity for dialogues. Also, Rijksakademie has the “advisors” program, inviting experienced artists, critics, curators, writers, or even biologists to come and give speeches or pay visits to artists’ studios.

Teaching Experience

During my residency, I participated in a workshop series organized by local university, co-designing a one-week long “Fun of Video Workshop” with another two artists that aimed to trigger fist-year fine arts students’ understanding of static and dynamic images. Through this experience, I saw the local art students’ independence, their attitude towards the pursuit of knowledge, and the depths of their pursuit. Although the first-year students were only 18 or 19 years old, they displayed rich knowledge and high level of acceptance to the diverse forms of contemporary art and experimental movies, as if art, as a subject, had already entered their knowledge system before they came to college.

This also made me understand that even though the famous International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) selected films that were extremely experimental, bold, and abstract, all sessions from ten-thirty in the morning to midnight were still packed, and the viewers were mostly local residents. My local friends, a married couple with office jobs, even took days off just to attend the film festival!

Summer

Europeans go on summer vacations, and that is why, in July and August, the offices are always slow and quite. Artists who came from places far away (Asian and America) could only stay in cold and cheerless studios and try to “keep each others warm.” But for me, I could concentrate even more. Many of the draft proposals of my projects were developed during those two summers, such as the preliminary phase and research of “The Turner Archives” (2011). Since the technicians also took turns and went on vacations, I could only use the time to think about many things and think very hard.

Open Studios

The major annual event was Open Studios. Not only was it time for the artists to honor the terms in their contract and present their creative achievements of the year (at least have the studio doors open), it was also time for the curious public to see what was going on in here, as the seclude building with a large garden only opens up its doors once a year.

The month before Open Studios was when the artists and the technicians interacted the most; the building was most crowded as well, since almost all the people were extremely busy at their respective posts. Advisors would pay frequent visits to the artists at their studios during this time and provide inputs and opinions. We often saw situations where artists broke down as soon as the advisors left; after all, every one of us wanted to showcase our best works, and with this pursuit of perfection, the stresses were through the roof, and the atmosphere was serious.

Fruits of hard work produced in over fifty studios further crowed the space during Open Studios. Therefore, it would be a better idea to get a VIP pass or a Press Pass in order to really appreciate and enjoy the works.

Growth over Two Years

During the two years of residency, I got more opportunities to experiment ideas, practice, and execute. During my first year there, I used familiar media to produce two videos, just like how I had always done before. In the second year, I started visiting different workshops, learned carpentry, and worked on wooden frames and sculptures; I even made the shipping cargo cases for my works myself. In the metalsmithing workshop, I learned how to cut, weld, polish, and drill, and made five metal light boxes. In the printmaking workshop, I printed with the technicians a series of works, and I even sold one later on, which for me was a greatly financial boost. In the painting workshop, I learned spray painting, fine polishing, and how to be patient.

In addition to skills and techniques, as I mentioned before, I further developed my research methods and concepts. Frankly, this residency opportunity allowed me to treat art creation as an office job—go to office in the morning, lunch break, continue working in the afternoon, go home for dinner, return to studio to do extra work, and go home to sleep at midnight. Day after day. The results were rapid development of my works and further cultivation of my own artistic concepts.

Another thing worth pointing out is that, at least over the two years I was there, we took peer critiques and studio visits by advisors very seriously; you needed a strong heart to take all the criticism. However, only through wisdom could you transform these criticism, doubts, and debates into the intensity, energy, and tension of the works.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院

回上一頁

荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院

荷蘭 / 阿姆斯特丹
創立時間 1870

  • 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院工作室
  • 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院展覽
  • 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院建築
  • 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院藝術家
  • 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院設備
  • 荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院布展中
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院位於阿姆斯特丹,為傑出藝術家提供優質的藝術、技術設施與理論,強調研究、實驗與發展創新藝術。

駐村藝術家可獲得學院的全球網絡。阿姆斯特丹為荷蘭與國際藝術領域的核心樞紐,透過現有連結與新合作關係,維持在藝術與社經領域之重要性。荷蘭皇家視覺藝術學院以實用設施為主,如工作室、生活住宿、獎學金和工作預算,駐村計畫格外強調集中工作、實驗、反思、討論。 駐村藝術家於藝術、技術與理論各方面皆獲得全力支持,國際藝術家與顧問親訪個別工作室。

進駐藝術家有個人的工作室。除了和約50位來自各國的創作者交換心得之外,亦可和本院顧問群同時也是卓越的藝術家和藝術工作者交流和對話。同時,與跨領域的技術團隊在設備完善的工作坊合作,也可激發出許多新點子。此外,本院理論工作坊也提供了專業的藝術圖書館、(史學)典藏/收藏,並舉辦藝術專題討論會。

這裡不受限於特定計劃、風格或意識形態。工作坊由專業技術士管理,藝術家可於此創作,利用傳統與當代材料與技術進行實驗。

臺灣藝術家崔廣宇曾於2006年駐村。




駐村心得


陳瀅如
http://www.yinjuchen.com/

實驗電影(科幻)、錄像裝置、多媒材裝置、版畫、攝影、雕塑
  • 陳瀅如工作室
  • 陳瀅如作品
  • 陳瀅如作品展覽
  • 陳瀅如工作室照片
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
陳瀅如,主要創作媒體為錄像,其作品亦包含複合媒材、繪畫、攝影版畫,與行動藝術等。在過去幾年,她的創作著眼於社會中的權力結構──民族主義、種族歧視、集體(無)意識等議題。近年逐漸把創作觀念結合太空科學與神祕學,將宇宙和人類處境作關連想像、思考。

陳瀅如曾參加國內外重大展覽與影展,包括「第四屆臺灣國際錄像藝術展:鬼魂的回返」,「疫年日志:恐懼、鬼魂、叛軍、沙士、哥哥和香港的故事」(Para/Site,2013)、臺北雙年展(2012)、鹿特丹國際影展(2011)、EMAF—歐洲媒體藝術節(2011)、馬德里蘇菲亞王妃藝術中心(西班牙,2009)、阿姆斯特丹國際紀錄片影展(荷蘭,2008)及舊金山國際亞美影展(2006)等。2010-2011年,陳瀅如獲選為荷蘭皇家國際藝術學院(Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten)駐村藝術家。目前居住工作於臺灣。

駐村心得:

資源充足

荷蘭皇家國際藝術學院算是駐村時間最長的藝術村了,駐村單位輔助藝術家在駐村期間所有基本開銷,包含租屋、生活津貼、創作材料費、額外創作補助計劃;在設備方面的提供也非常齊全,工作坊包含木工、金屬、版畫、陶瓷、繪畫、多媒體,每個工作坊也有專屬技術人員的協助與指導。基本上,藝術家的構想或實驗,在與技術人員討論後,即使是天馬行空的計劃幾乎都可以實現。

荷蘭皇家國際藝術學院是一個實驗的場域,駐村單位提供藝術家無後顧之憂與所有的技術支援,加上整整兩年的時間,其實就是希望藝術家可以多做實驗與嘗試。由於藝術家工作室全部集中在館內,因此彼此之間的對話對創作練習也相對重要,畢竟藝術家工作室不只是工作的地方,也是產生對話的地方,這點是皇家藝術村是最大的優點,尤其每年大約有二十幾個來自不同國家背景的藝術家,讓這個對話空間與機會非常難得。此外,藝術村還有「指導機制」,邀請經驗老道的藝術家、藝術評論、策展人、文學家、甚至生物學家來到駐村單位演講以及工作室拜訪。

教學經驗

在我駐村的期間參與了大學開辦工作坊的計劃。我與其他兩位藝術家設計為期一個禮拜的「影像玩樂工作坊」,重點在於啟發大學一年級的美術新生對靜態和動態影像的認知。由於這個經驗,觀察到當地藝術大學學生的自主性與求學的態度和深度,雖然大一生頂多十八、九歲,但對當代藝術與實驗電影的多樣表現形式卻顯得知識豐富、接納度非常高,彷彿自大學之前藝術這門學科就已進入他/她們的知識系統。

這個發現也讓我了解到為何大名鼎鼎的鹿特丹國際影展的片單是如此的實驗、大膽、抽象,但出席率確實從早上十點半到半夜都是滿的,而且大部份都是當地人。我的一對當地友人是正常上班族夫妻,他們甚至會因為藝術節而請假參與!

夏天

歐洲人放暑假。因此七、八月時工作室氛圍會極為緩慢、冷清。家住太遠的藝術家(如亞洲、美洲)幾乎只能待在人煙稀少的工作室「互相取暖」。但對我而言也更能專心了,我有很多計劃草稿都是這兩年的夏天發想出來的,例如《透納檔案》(2011)的最初觀念階段與研究調查。因為技術人員也輪番放大假,因此這段期間也就真的只能認真想、拼命想。

開放工作室

每年的重頭戲當然就是開放工作室,這戲不只是藝術家必須照合約規定要呈現一年的創作成果(至少工作室門要打開),也是讓廣大好奇的民眾一窺究竟,因為這麼大一棟庭院深深的建築物,一年只開放這一次。

開放工作室前一個月是藝術家與技術人員互動最繁忙的時候,也是人最多的時候,幾乎所有人都在崗位上,忙的不得了。指導們也會在這時集中拜訪工作室,給予意見。常常見到指導一離開,藝術家便蹦潰的畫面,畢竟大家都想呈現最好的一面,就好心切下壓力指數飆高,氣氛嚴肅。

五十多間工作室的精心作品,讓開放工作室期間擠得水泄不通,因此想要好好看作品,還是想個辦法拿貴賓証或記者證提前拜訪較為適當。

兩年的成長

這個長達兩年的駐村時間,讓我在作品的思考、練習與執行上有更多的實驗機會。我第一年時一如往常,以自己熟悉的媒材剪出兩件錄像作品;到了第二年,開始遊走工作坊,我學會了木工,開始做畫框和雕塑,甚至到後來的海運用作品條板箱也自己做。在金屬工坊我學到了如何裁切、銲接、打磨、鑽孔,做出五個金屬燈箱。在版畫工坊,我與技師印製一系列的作品,後來賣出一張,幫了當時經濟狀況一個大忙。在繪畫工坊,我學會噴漆、精緻打磨,和耐心。

除了技術之外,如同前文提到,在研究方法和思考上也更精進。這個駐村機會,講白一點,讓我把創作當成朝九晚五的工作──早上進工作室、午休、下午繼續、晚上回家吃飯、再回到工作室加班,半夜回家睡覺,日復一日,結果就是作品的快速成長與底藴的累積。

另外值得一提的是,至少在我待的那兩年間,藝術家之間的作品批判與指導的工作室拜訪,絕不是鬧著玩的,心臟要夠強才能頂住。但也唯有靠智慧才能將批評、質疑、辯證內化爲作品的強度與張力的力量。