:::

Database / Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI)

back

Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI)

USA / Santa Fe
Established 1985

  • Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI)'s Square
  • Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI)'s Artist
  • Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI)'s Studio
  • Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI)'s Building
Santa Fe Art Institute (SFAI) takes as its mission an exploration of the intersections of contemporary art and society.

By bringing together prominent individuals and institutions in the arts, sciences, and humanities, SFAI enlivens local, national, and international discourse through residencies, lectures, workshops, publications, exhibitions, and educational and outreach programming.

Santa Fe nurtures artists and provide a stimulating, creative atmosphere for their work serves society in an essential way and gives artists the support necessary to take risks and explore possibilities.



Santa Fe was the first city in the US to be designated as a member of the creative-cities network by UNESCO. The community of Santa Fe is particularly rich in terms of the breadth of cultural activities available and for its patronage of contemporary art and literature.




Who’s Been There


CHUNG Wen-Yin
Writing on the Island
  • CHUNG Wen-Yin's Event Photo
  • CHUNG Wen-Yin's Art Work
  • CHUNG Wen-Yin's Lecture
  • CHUNG Wen-Yin and Artist
  • CHUNG Wen-Yin's Exhibition
CHUNG Wen-Yin graduated from the Department of Mass Communication at Tamkang University. Chung studied oil painting at Chinese Artist Alliance of New York City. She is now a renowned writer of novels and proses and a freelance photographer. Painting has still been a major hobby in her life. For years, Chung has been travelling around the world on her own and participated in writers’ programs or cultural exchange programs worldwide. She also chairs lectures such as “Reading and Writing” in various universities in Taiwan.

The recognitions of Chung’s achievement included the Joint Literature Awards, China Times Literature Award, United Daily Literature Award, World Chinese Fiction Prize, Yunlin County Cultural Award, Wu San-Lien Literature Prize, and Lin Rong-San Literature Award. In 2006, Chung’s novel Decayed Lust was honored as one of the Top Ten Chinese Fictions. She has been dedicated to writing and has published many short story collections, novels, and prose collections. Chung demonstrates both high productivity and quality. In 2011, Chung published the work, Island Trilogy: Decayed Lust, Decayed History, and Decayed Land, which garnered her much attention and praises. The trilogy was nominated for the Golden Literature Award and has been published in simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

The artist’s personal feedback:

For artists, overseas residency experience is significant in terms of cultural exchange. Santa Fe has dynamic art circles where artists encounter and mingle, and where art fairs prosper. It is a charming city providing “visual” stimulations and cultural exchange.

Due to the inconvenience of the public to the hosting institute, Santa Fe Art Institute, the resident artists must keep high mobility and capability to live independently in order to explore broader horizon and conduct in-depth interactions. As I am very experienced in travelling alone, coupled with my passion and exploration in visual art and photography, it was a very rewarding experience by which I could integrate literature, painting, and photography in my production. I gained the experience of being both a “wanderer” and a “visiting resident.”

Through this in-depth residence experience, I was able to interact with and be inspired by the local people, and discover stories. It also provided a more profound perspective for me to reflect upon in my literary work and topographical writing when I write for the island (of Taiwan). I tried to write and communicate the ideology between the East and the West as derived from my own island country and my residency experience. In the meantime, the field research conducted during my residency into the people, the places, and the stories; has inspired and imparted me with a new vision and imaginations.

In addition to interacting with resident artists from other countries, I also learned about the local art and culture. Also, through “street interviews,” I chronicled the people I met and their stories, and indulged myself in the natural environment and landscapes through the pleasure of observing and photography.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 聖塔菲藝術中心

回上一頁

聖塔菲藝術中心

美國 / 聖塔菲
創立時間 1985

  • 聖塔菲藝術中心廣場
  • 聖塔菲藝術中心藝術家
  • 聖塔菲藝術中心工作室
  • 聖塔菲藝術中心建築
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
聖多菲藝術中心的任務就是要探索當代藝術與社會間的互動。

聖多菲藝術中心將藝術、科學、人文領域內的優秀人才與卓越機構聚集在一起,透過駐村、講演、座談會、出版物、展覽、教育活動等活絡國內外交流。

聖多菲藝術中心栽培藝術家,提供刺激創意的氛圍,給藝術家足夠的支援,讓他們可以盡量冒險、探索無限可能。

聖多菲是第一座經聯合國教科文組織指名為創意城市的美國都市。聖多菲的社群特別富有文化深度,而且欣賞當代藝術與文學。




駐村心得


鍾文音
島嶼書寫
  • 鍾文音活動照片
  • 鍾文音與藝術家
  • 鍾文音展覽
  • 鍾文音作品
  • 鍾文音講座
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
鍾文音,淡江大傳系畢,曾赴紐約視覺藝術聯盟習油畫。現專職創作,以小說和散文為主,兼擅攝影,並以繪畫修身。隻身周遊列國多年,並多次參與國際作家駐村計畫與文化交流,在臺灣各大學主講「閱讀與寫作」等課程。

曾獲聯合文學、中時、聯合報、世界華文小說獎、雲林文化獎、吳三連文學獎、林榮三文學獎等國內重要各大文學獎。2006以《豔歌行》獲(開卷)中文創作十大好書獎。持續寫作不輟,已出版多部短篇小說集、長篇小說及散文集等,質量兼具。2011年出版百萬字鉅作:臺灣島嶼三部曲《豔歌行》、《短歌行》、《傷歌行》,備受矚目與好評,三部曲入圍臺灣文學金典獎,並已出版簡體版、日文版與英文版。

駐村心得:

對藝術家而言,國外駐村經驗是有其重要的文化交流意義。聖塔菲(Santa Fe)一地人文薈萃,藝術家集結,藝術市集蓬勃,對「視覺」刺激與文化交流,深具魅力。

但由於駐村地點:聖塔菲藝術協會(Sanfa Fe Art Institude)交通比較不便,駐村者需具有超高行動力與獨立自主性,才能有更廣更深的新視野與交流。由於我個人旅行經驗豐富,加上我對視覺繪畫與攝影的喜愛與探索,故效益頗大,可以將文學結合繪畫與攝影,同時兼有「漫遊者」與「居遊者」的雙重體驗。

經由這次深入的駐村體驗與當地的互動靈感與挖掘故事,對於我的文學與地誌書寫,可以在島嶼書寫的同時,有更深的層面觀照。將駐村經驗與和自身島嶼的東西方進行書寫與對話,同時藉由「田調」的耙梳精神,對於駐村時期的人事地物探勘與故事有了很多新視野與啟發的新想像。

除了與各國駐村藝術家交流外,也耙梳當地藝術與文化,同時藉由「街訪」:記錄遇到的人的故事,並深入自然與風景的攝影與觀察。