:::

Database / American Dance Festival ICR Program

back

American Dance Festival ICR Program

USA / Durham
Established 1934

  • American Dance Festival ICR Program's Performance Photo
ADF's programs are developed based on its mission to: encourage and support the creation and presentation of new modern dance works by both emerging and established choreographers, and professionals in dance-related fields; to preserve our modern dance heritage through continued presentation of classic works as well as through archival efforts; to build wider national and international audiences for modern dance; to enhance public understanding and appreciation of the art form and its cultural and historical significance; to provide a sound scientific and aesthetic base for professional training and education of young dancers; and to maintain a forum for integrating and disseminating information on dance and dance education.




Who’s Been There


CHANG Chien-Hao
“Return”, “A solo dance”
  • Group Photo of Performers
  • Activity
  • Event Photo
  • Another Group Photo of Performers
  • CHANG Chien-Hao's Photo
CHANG Chien-Hao graduated from the Taipei National University of the Arts. Upon his graduation, Chang has been an active freelance dancer and participated in rehearsals and performances in various dance companies, as well as international dance competitions and invitational performances. Chang is currently the resident artist of Chang Dance Theater. In 2011, Chang co-founded the Chang Dance Theater with his younger brothers, Chang Chien-Chih and Chang Chien-Kuei. In 2014, Chang took part in the American Dance Festival as an international choreographer with the support from the Ministry of Culture’s “International Artists-in-residence Grant.” In the same year, Chang received the Ministry of Culture’s “My First Show Grant” and created the work, Return.

Artist’s personal feedback:

During my residency, I presented two works. Return – Explore the Body, was presented on July 21, 2014. Originally, I was to present the work at ICR Showcase with nine other resident artists. The concept was simple, “The body built by bones, and we build the space.” The creative motive was to simply use the body as the starting point. From constructing the bones to the formation of the body, I went beyond the body to the space around, and tried to return to my own body. Firstly, I tried to develop the movements. From these movements, I explored and built their relations to the space, and constructed a set of logics. For example, during the early development of the work, I established squares in the space with different parts of body or moved and pushed around this square to create a set of movements. I demonstrated these movements to other dancers that they could practice and adopt the logics. In the end, I wihdrawed all the movements demonstrated to the dancers and allowed the dancers to interpret on their own in this set of physical logics. The work was originally set to be 30 minutes in length, but was shortened by the ADF organizer to a ten-minute version due to the time constrains of the entire event in the evening. As a result, I developed another independent work based on my exploration of body.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 美國舞蹈節國際編舞家駐村

回上一頁

美國舞蹈節國際編舞家駐村

美國 / 杜倫
創立時間 1934

  • 美國舞蹈節國際編舞家駐村表演照片
美國舞蹈節(ADF)的各項計劃始於其創立使命:鼓勵新銳與中、後生代編舞家及舞蹈相關的專業人士,於現代舞蹈的領域中進行嶄新的創作與展演;透過資料庫的建立、經典作品的製作重現等,保存現代舞的寶貴遺產;為現代舞建立更廣泛的國內外觀眾;提高公眾對現代舞與其文化、歷史重要性的理解與欣賞;為年輕舞蹈家的專業培訓和教育提供一良好的科學、美學基礎;並維護一流通的論壇與平台以整合、傳播舞蹈及舞蹈教育相關的資訊。




駐村心得


張堅豪
“Return”, “A solo dance”
  • 表演者合照
  • 活動現場
  • 活動照片
  • 張堅豪照片
  • 其他表演者合照
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
張堅豪,於2009年畢業於國立臺北藝術大學,畢業後在臺灣以自由舞者的身分參與不同舞團的排練及演出,以及國際上的舞蹈比賽及邀演。現為長弓舞蹈劇場駐團藝術家,於2011年與親弟弟們張堅志,張堅貴共同成立了長弓舞蹈劇場。2014以國際編舞家身份獲選文化部「選送人才出國駐村交流」專案前往美國舞蹈節American Dance Festival,同年獲文化部「藝術新秀首次個人創作」發表作品「回」。

創作理念:

本次駐村期間共發表了兩件作品,其中一件作品「回-到身體上的探索」發表於2014年7月21日原定ICR Showcase中與另外九位駐村藝術家們共同呈現,作品的概念很簡單 ”The body built by bones, and we build the space.” 創作的動機純粹以身體作為出發,從骨頭的建構到身體的組合,然後延伸出身體以外的空間後要怎麼回到自己本身。起先找到自己的動作後再從動作中意識到和空間的關係並建立起一個邏輯,例如創作初期我以身體不同的部位在空間建立方塊或是移動和推動此方塊的方式創造一套動作再給予舞者們練習並讓她們的身體習慣這個邏輯後,再將動作拿掉,從這個肢體的邏輯上在她們身上找到不同的詮釋。原先預計這個作品的長度約為30分鐘,但ADF主辦單位因為擔心因此整晚的節目太長,所以要求大家盡量以作品長度十分鐘為發展,所以最後才將我這人的發展部分獨立出來做了另一個作品呈現。