:::

Database / Künstlerhaus Bethanien

back

Künstlerhaus Bethanien

Germany / Berlin
Established 1974

  • Künstlerhaus Bethanien's Studio
  • Künstlerhaus Bethanien's Entrance
  • Künstlerhaus Bethanien's Space
  • Künstlerhaus Bethanien's Room
  • Künstlerhaus Bethanien's Exhibition
Künstlerhaus Bethanien is a service enterprise whose goal is to further contemporary art and contemporary artists. It is responsible for the lodging and assistance of international guests; for offering advice in general questions concerning art and its practical issues; for the running of the workshops; for the planning and realization of its residents' events; and the development and organization of artistic and cultural projects both in and outside of Berlin.




Who’s Been There


Chen-Hung CHIU
  • Marble-Deer-No Photo
  • Phototaxis
  • Phototaxis Exhibition
  • Phototaxis Exhibition Photo
  • Phototaxis Art Work
  • Phototaxis Exhibition Space
  • Phototaxis Art Work Detail
  • Phototaxis Art Work Detail Photo
  • Phototaxis Exhibition Detail Photo
  • Phototaxis Exhibition
  • The Marble Workers Photo
Chen-Hung CHIU received a Master’s Degree from the Graduate School of Plastic Arts, National Taiwan University of Art. His creations are mostly installations and sculptures. He excavates the figures and trajectories that existed in another time and space as if archaeological expedition. Moreover, he reinterprets the logical rules that have been rationalized and designed through abstract techniques. Chiu reshapes them vividly, which develops many memory repairing methods.

His essential solo exhibitions in recent years include Phototaxis, Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Germany (2019), The Dust of Time, YIRI ARTS, Taipei (2017), and group exhibitions, including the 2019 Asian Art Biennia: The Strangers from beyond the Mountain and the Sea, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung (2019), Island Tales: Taiwan and Australia, Taipei Fine Arts Museum, Taipei (2019), and so forth.

Artist Statement
During my residency, I have two main presentations. The first is the "Open Studio." I introduce my artwork and ideas with static documents and dynamic videos. The second is the group exhibition of residency artists. The exhibition theme is "Phototaxis." I tried to metaphorically transform the "light" into a kind of figure and trajectory that once existed in the world today. I used video and relief artworks to conduct dialogues about biology, mineral, history, religion, and science in different time and space. I exhibited nine relief sculptures and two video works. In the relief work "Plants," I adopted the window scenes from a science fiction film and carved the plants, light, and shadow on the wooden boards. Matching with the film's voiceover, I re-positioned them in the exhibition space. It is like a whisper, intertwining a path between the unknown and completeness, life and death, artificiality and authenticity, desire, and reason. The other two video works, "GuanYin" and "The Marble Workers," were based on the Taiwanese marble industry and folk religions. Through a keen sense of my own family's life history and the geographical exploration of humanities and nature, I explored the mysterious film between material and spirit. From the above experience, I also developed a set of memory repairing methods in religion and art.

Künstlerhaus Bethanien has rich resources and sufficient facilities. Besides studios, factories, and technical staff support, there is also a solo exhibition space of about one hundred square feet. It is close to the level of an art museum. The organization arranged many curator exchange activities. There were exchanges with independent curators from the Germany Kassel Documenta, the Bangkok Art Biennale, and some local independent curators. After the residency, the Künstlerhaus Bethanien assembled artworks from the artists who resided in the same year to publish a catalog. Overall, it was a professional and excellent art residency experience.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 貝塔寧藝術村

回上一頁

貝塔寧藝術村

德國 / 柏林
創立時間 1974

  • 貝塔寧藝術村展覽
  • 貝塔寧藝術村房間
  • 貝塔寧藝術村工作室
  • 貝塔寧藝術村空間
  • 貝塔寧藝術村入口
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
貝塔寧藝術村致力於服務當代藝術以及當代藝術家,促進其發展;提供的協助內容包括:國際藝術家的住宿、藝術相關咨詢、工作坊輔助、進駐藝術家的計劃施行、柏林區域內外相關的藝文活動發展。




駐村心得


邱承宏
  • 作品 Marble Deer No 照片
  • 趨光
  • 趨光展覽
  • 趨光展覽照片
  • 趨光作品
  • 趨光展覽空間
  • 趨光作品細節
  • 趨光作品細節照片
  • 趨光展覽細節照片
  • 趨光展覽空間照片
  • 作品 The Marble Workers 照片
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
邱承宏,畢業於國立臺灣藝術大學造形藝術研究所。創作多以裝置、雕塑呈現,如同進行一場考古探險般,挖掘生存時空曾經存在的身影與軌跡,並透過抽象的手法重新演繹那些被合理化及設計過的邏輯規則,將它們生動地重塑,藉此發展出一套巨大的記憶修補術。

近年重要個展包括:「趨光」(貝塔寧藝術村,德國,2019)及「時間的灰燼」(伊日藝術計劃,臺北,2017);聯展包括「亞洲藝術雙年展:來自山與海的異人」(國立臺灣美術館,臺中,2019)、「小說:雙城計劃」(臺北市立美術館,臺北,2019)等。

駐村心得:
駐村成果分為兩個部分,第一是「開放工作室」,我以靜態文件跟動態影片介紹創作與想法。第二是「駐村藝術家聯合成果展」,展題為「趨光phototaxis」,我試圖從「光」轉喻為一種對於當代世界中曾經存在的身影與軌跡,並藉由錄像與浮雕裝置作品重新延展出關於生物、礦產、歷史、宗教與科學等不同時空的對話形式。我展出了九件浮雕,以及兩個錄像作品。在浮雕作品《植栽》(Plants)中,我運用科幻電影中的窗景畫面,將其植物與光影雕刻在木板上,搭配電影的旁白文字,重新錯置在空間中,如同絮語般,交織出一條未知與完整、生與死、仿生與現實、欲望與理性之間的路徑。另兩件錄像作品《觀音》及《大理石廠工人》,以臺灣大理石產業為發想,並參考民俗宗教製作而成。透過對自身家族生活史的敏銳感觸以及人文自然的地理探勘,探索介乎物質與精神間的神秘薄膜,並從中發展出一套關於宗教與藝術之間的記憶修補術。

德國貝塔寧藝術村的資源豐富、空間完善,除了提供工作室、工廠、技術人員支援之外,還有一個規模接近美術館等級的百坪個展空間。駐村期間安排許多策展人交流活動,此次就有來自德國卡塞爾文件展、泰國曼谷雙年展、以及柏林當地一些獨立策展人的交流,駐村結束後,藝術村將當年度駐村藝術家的作品集結出版成一本畫冊,這些都給予藝術家們許多的幫助,整體來說,是一個專業完整的駐村經驗。