:::

Database / Grey Projects

back

Grey Projects

Singapore / Singapore
Established 2008

  • Grey Projects' Studio
  • Grey Projects' Studio Space
  • Grey Projects' Library
  • Grey Projects' Room
Grey Projects (est. 2008) is a library, a residency apartment, a studio, and two galleries. Out of these spaces they generate curatorial and exchange activities. This usually means they make books, exhibitions, talks, residencies, reading groups and workshops. They are interested in new design practices, writing, curatorial research, and art propositions. They have been around since 2008, you can find Grey Projects now in Tiong Bahru, Singapore’s oldest public housing estate that’s also known today for its cafés, design studios, independent bookstores, Streamline Moderne architecture, and its art community.

Through the International Residency Programme, Grey Projects has hosted artists-in-residence from all over the globe since 2013. Artists staying with them will enjoy access to the library/workspace and the residency room. Depending on its availability, the studio space may also be vacant for use. As presentation opportunities and activities such as workshops and artist talks are independently determined with each artist, residency offers do not guarantee the culmination of an exhibition or any similar event.

Each residency period runs for a minimum of 4 weeks. Interested parties should write to Grey with a research residency proposal and a brief CV, and enquire about available periods and fees.

Their latest International Artist-in-Residence was Andrew Nicholls from Australia and past residents of the International Residency include Virgile Fraisse, Angela Tiatia, Stephanie Lai, Gemma Kearney, and Leanne Dunic. In line with their commitment to facilitating artistic exchange, Grey Projects also run a Residency Exchange Programme. In the years of running the Residency Exchange Programme, they have established long-term partnerships with important institutions overseas, such as the Taipei Artist Village, the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art Korea, and Akiyoshidai International Art Village (Japan). Through the Residency Exchange Programme, Grey Projects hope to position Singapore in the important global networks and connect the local community to other international communities.

Other than running a variety of residency programmes, Grey Projects has also curated over forty exhibitions and organized multiple artist open studios and events. They have featured prominent Singaporean artists such as Jeremy Sharma, Shubigi Rao, and the late Lee Wen. Many of our exhibitions also support emerging or under-recognised artists who go on to achieve critical acclaim.

Grey Projects has also been thinking of new ways to move away from the regular exhibition formats towards other forms of art and knowledge production. They are currently focused on research and event-based programming, which they carry out in collaboration with curators such as Savita Apte and Kenneth Tay. On top of that, Grey Projects are also looking at ways in which they can more meaningfully exchange with the community in their neighbourhood and are planning more socially engaged projects and programmes in the near future.

Grey Projects also aim to continue to expand their partnerships with more international residency spaces, and are always open to the prospect of forming new exchanges.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 灰色計畫

回上一頁

灰色計畫

新加坡 / 新加坡
創立時間 2008

  • 灰色計畫工作室
  • 灰色計畫工作室空間
  • 灰色計畫圖書館
  • 灰色計畫房間
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
灰色計畫(創立於2008年)是一座圖書館、一間駐村公寓、一個工作室和兩間藝廊。也就是說,他們出版書籍、舉辦展覽、講座、駐村計畫、讀書會和工作坊等策展和交流活動,同時,他們對新的設計、寫作、策展計畫和提案感興趣。從2008年起,灰色計畫落腳在新加坡最古老的公共住宅區「中峇魯」(Tiong Bahru),在這幾年的發展下,中峇魯漸聚集了許多咖啡廳、設計工作室與獨立書店,並以流線型的現代建築和藝術社區聞名。


自2013年起,透過國際駐村計畫,灰色計畫接待了來自全球各地的藝術家,進駐者可以自由地使用空間內的圖書館(或被認為是工作空間),以及工作室。工作室如剛好空置無人使用,則有機會挪來做為其他活動的場地。不管是研討會或是藝術家講座,皆由每位獨立藝術家自行策劃決定,因此,駐村計畫為每位駐村者所帶來的成效各異。


每次的駐村計畫為期至少四週,有意申請的藝術家,須備妥駐村計畫書以及個人簡歷與灰色計畫聯繫,同時洽詢空閒檔期以及費用,


最近期的國際駐村藝術家是來自澳洲的Andrew Nicholls。過往曾接待過的包括:Virgile Fraisse、Angela Tiatia、Stephanie Lai、Gemma Kearney和Leanne Dunic。基於對促進藝術交流的承諾,灰色計畫展開了國際駐村交流計畫。在多年的執行經驗中,與許多國際重要機構建立了長期的合作關係,例如:臺灣的臺北國際藝術村、韓國的國立現代美術館以及日本的秋吉台國際藝術村等。希望透過國際駐村交流計畫,將新加坡定位在重要的全球網絡中,同時串連本地社群與國際社群。


進行國際駐村交流的同時,灰色計畫已經策劃超過四十場展覽,舉辦了多次藝術家開放工作室與相關活動;這些活動曾邀請過新加坡知名的藝術家參與,包括Jeremy Sharma、Shubigi Rao和已故的行為藝術家李文。灰色計畫同時為許多新銳創作者,甚至是尚未知名的藝術家們舉辦展覽,並獲得好評。


灰色計畫同時也一直在思考從定期的展覽形式轉向其他表現方式,例如如何與周邊的社區進行更有意義的交流活動。目前,他們專注於研究和活動策劃,並與Savita Apte和Kenneth Tay等策展人合作。希望不久將來進行更多的社會參與項目和計畫。


灰色計畫也致力於繼續擴大與更多國際駐村空間合作,也對建立新的交流形式保持開放態度。