:::

Database / S-AIR

back

S-AIR

Japan / Sapporo
Established 1999

  • S-AIR's Lecture
  • S-AIR's Artist
  • S-AIR's Art Work
  • S-AIR's Exhibiting
S-AIR was established in 1999 with partial funding by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, to run an artist-in-residence programme in Hokkaido. Since it was approved to be a non-profit organis ation organization in 2004, S-AIR started a 10-year collaborative residency project with ICC, in which we have been building networks with Japanese and international artists as well as art institutions in Japan and overseas. In 2011, S-AIR initiated a new programme, FRONTIER, which is supported by the Agency for Cultural Affairs. S-AIR moved out of ICC into a new premise on the east side of Sapporo station with other creative offices in 2013.

S-AIR offers different types of programs:

Programmes for International Artists [FRONTIER Programme, JENESYS Programme]:

S-AIR -FRONTIER-/JENESYS Programme 
Since the establishment of S-AIR Committee Board, S-AIR has hosted 77 artists in total from 32 countries over the period of 13 years (as of March 2013).

From 2008 for 5 years, S-AIR hosted 10 artists in total from countries in Asia and Oceania for JENESYS (Japan-East Asia Network of Exchange for Students and Youths) Programmeme organizsed by Japan Foundation.

-S-AIR hosts 2 artists/curators each term, 4 artists/curators in total per year are invited to participate in the FRONTIER Pprogrammeme.

Programmes for Local/National Artists [S-AIR AWARD] :

S-AIR AWARD- 

-Alongside of hosting international artists in Sapporo, the S-AIR AWARD was set up in 2006 to offer residency opportunities for local artists to live and produce art work abroad using the network that S-AIR had been building up. In 2011, the award was also open for a non-local artist. Until By the end of March 2013, the award have has been given to 10 artists.

Other Projects:

S-AIR have organizsed different projects such as 'Art Akebono 04-05' and 'Artist-in-School' (now run by AIS Planning) with a new approach, in which the idea of residency has been taken into an educational environment including community centerres and elementary schools.




Who’s Been There


TING Chaong-Wen
http://tingchaongwen.weebly.com/

History of Hybrid Culture Movements
  • TING Chaong-Wen's Art Work
  • TING Chaong-Wen Exhibiting
  • TING Chaong-Wen's Exhibition Site
  • TING Chaong-Wen's Art Work Detail
  • TING Chaong-Wen's Exhibition Status
TING Chaong-Wen, born in 1979, Kaohsiung. He got his MFA in Graduate Institute of Plastic Arts, Tainan National University of the Arts in 2006. He was an artist-in-residence at Seoul Art Space Geumcheon in 2015, of the Sapporo 2 Project in Japan in 2013, at the Taipei Artist Village in 2012, and at the Cite International des Arts in Paris in 2010.

Artist Statement:

My expertise is in mixed media such as spatial installations that mixes images and found objects. In recent years, I have tried to concern myself with the multiplicity as well as the mediation of perceptions in contemporary experimental installations. I tried to observe the synesthetic relationship between history and emotive elements in these site-specific works. Then, microscopic and time-tested experiences created from personal use of languages could thus be developed.



Daily life exists in a rheological state that is difficult to distinguish within the flow of space and time, but the subtle changes can still be observed over a significant period of time. These differences gradually accumulate into what we interpret as ourselves and our surrounding environment as imagined. I try to cast a psychological space into the environment, depicting an imaginary field between the physical and poetic space. Therefore, this material can subtly display the personal, internal, and environmental experience of everyday lives.



Similar to a mirror, history has always been a reflection of our own self. Snow in Sapporo also bears the layer of history in the city. Snow tells us the limitations of human beings and their responsibilities. During my artist residency, I focused my research and work for the Sapporo2 Project on snow as a rheological retelling of history. Images of snow were the main works in this exhibition.



If making art is a process of measuring history and interpreting history, our actions in defining history and giving history forms (static or moving), meanings (essential value or simple appearances), and records exist in a pre-condition that ‘we forget history easily.’ With that being said, the arts industry demands that contemporary art renews itself constantly. If the development of ‘new’ things takes a long time, we are to reuse and reinterpret the things in the past and thus create something ‘new’ out of the old ‘files.’ This model has become the fountainhead for contemporary art.





History of Hybrid Culture Movements attempts to deal with the concept of geographical locations, climate conditions, native clans, and other ‘files’ related to Hokkaido in the modern Japanese history. Much like Cabinet of Curiosities, a collection of these issues was presented as an exhibition through ready-made objects, photographs, and a video interview with local residents. I tried to present a combination of the Ainu culture and the movement reacting to the Treaty of Mutual Cooperation and Security movements with a perspective of “the Other” in understanding these parts of history. We are accustomed to the classification of modern museums, which obscure our multiple imaginations on different historical events and hide them under mainstream history. A person's cognition is affected in social mechanisms and systems, where my work attempts to offer new opportunities for all to reexamine the existing cultural pedigree and taxonomy.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫

回上一頁

北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫

日本 / 札幌
創立時間 1999

  • 北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫講座
  • 北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫藝術家
  • 北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫作品
  • 北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫布展中
成立於1999年,北海道札幌藝術進駐計畫 (S-AIR)在當地文化局的部分支持之下,於北海道舉辦藝術家駐村計畫。2004年改組為非營利組織後,S-AIR開始與ICC 合作駐村計畫,ICC與國內外藝術家及藝文網絡建立長久的夥伴關係。2011年,S-AIR 在文化局的支持下,創辦了突破疆界藝術駐村計畫,2013年,S-AIR辦公室遷至札幌車站東側的大樓。

提供以下不同類型的計畫:

-國際藝術家計畫: [突破韁界計畫(FRONTIER Programme)、日本東亞網絡青年學生交換計畫( JENESYS)] :從2008年開始,在日本基金會的規劃下,北海道藝術進駐計畫共接待從日本東亞網絡青年學生交換計畫(JENESYS; Japan-East Asia Network of Exchange for Students and Youths)的來10位年輕學子。 另外的突破疆界計畫,每期邀請2位藝術家/策展人,每年共邀請4位藝術家/策展人前來駐村創作。

-當地藝術家計畫(S-AIR Award國外駐村機會):2006年開始徵件,該計畫提供日本當地藝術家至國外駐村的機會。2011年並開放給日本非當地藝術家。至2013年3月止,該計畫已提供給10位藝術家至國外駐村。

-其他計畫:S-AIR 也舉辦其他的計畫如「Art Akebono 04-05」 及「藝術家駐校計畫 (Artist-in-School)」。目的是將駐村計畫帶入教育的環境當中,如社區及小學。




駐村心得


丁昶文
http://tingchaongwen.weebly.com/

混種文化運動史
  • 丁昶文作品細節
  • 丁昶文展覽現場
  • 丁昶文作品
  • 丁昶文展覽狀況
  • 丁昶文布展中
丁昶文,1979年出生於高雄,2006年國立臺南藝術大學造形藝術研究所畢業。2015年前往韓國首爾衿川藝術空間駐村、2013年前往日本札幌藝術村(Sapporo 2 Project)、2012年於臺北國際藝術村駐村、2010年前往法國巴黎西帖國際藝術中心駐村。

駐村心得:

筆者習於處理影像及現成物等混合媒材之空間裝置,近年作品常以特定場域為主,藉以探究當代藝術作為檔案裝置之生成可能,測繪作品所涉及感性物質與歷史之間的連結關係,以此發展屬於個人語境及時代辯證之微觀經驗。

日常生活是ㄧ種流變狀態,隨著空間和時間之運動而變化,其中之變異著實細微難辨,但依循著恆長之探測仍可覺察其微度差異,此差異逐步積累勾畫出我們對生活自身、及其本質上的詮釋想像。透過藝術的語言將創作空間投射到身體實存之場域,以此描繪出一種想像治域,一個介於物理空間和詩性空間之「異質空間」,並得以將之命名彰顯使其獨自開展,呈現日常之中關於物質、內部與物體邊界之細微經驗。

歷史像一面明鏡,它總能讓我們看見自己,對札幌而言,雪的本身即承載歷史,瞭解雪也進而理解人類自身的局限與其可能。歷史即雪的想法,可視為筆者在札幌駐村研究與創作之延伸基礎,而雪的形象也流變成了架構展覽的核心。

如果創作是關於測量歷史和呈現歷史運動的過程,當我們開始定義歷史,並賦予其形象(動態或靜止)、意義(形而上或本質的意義),或任何記錄的形式, 這些舉動都是基於當代藝術存在ㄧ種現象「我們很容易遺忘歷史」,然而藝術產業相信當代藝術需要持續更新,但若要發現新的事物則需要長時間探索,所以重新利用過去的事物,輔以新的方式來處理歷史,此法便形成了當代藝術之濫觴。

基於上述,駐村發表作品《混種文化運動史》嘗試處理地理概念、氣候環境、原始部族或日本近代史中所涉及北海道的檔案,它像是驚奇室一般,將這些議題收藏在展覽的空間,透過現成物、照片與當地居民訪談,將阿伊努文化、昭和文化或安保運動混雜在ㄧ起,藉以「他者之眼」來重新理解物件背後之歷史。我們習於現代博物館的分類方式,它遮蔽了我們對不同歷史的多重想像,隱沒了被排除在主流歷史外的對象,人們的認知被展示的機制與系統影響,筆者之作品則是藉由感性途徑來開展更多可能對其觀看與想像的位置。