:::

Database / Para Site

back

Para Site

China / Hong Kong
Established 1996

  • Para Site's Exhibition
  • Para Site's Lecture
  • Para Site's Exhibition Status
  • Para Site's Event
Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art space and one of the oldest and most active independent art center in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications and discursive projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.

Founded in early 1996 as an artist run space, Para Site was Hong Kong's first institution of contemporary art and a crucial self-organized structure within the city’s civil society, during the uncertain period preceding its handover to Mainland China. Throughout the years, Para Site has evolved into a professional contemporary art center, engaged in a wide array of activities and collaborations with other art institutions, museums, biennials and academic structures in Hong Kong and the international landscape.

Throughout its history, Para Site's activities have included a range of different formats, among which a smaller parallel exhibition space, Para/Site Central, hosted by Hanart TZ Gallery in Central (1997-2008); P/S magazine (1997-2006), a bilingual publication which was Hong Kong's first visual arts magazine and a central platform for the development of art writing and of a discursive scene in the city; and the Curatorial Training Program (2007-2010).

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / Para Site 藝術空間

回上一頁

Para Site 藝術空間

中國 / 香港
創立時間 1996

  • Para Site 藝術空間講座
  • Para Site 藝術空間活動
  • Para Site 藝術空間展覽狀況
  • Para Site 藝術空間展覽
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
Para Site藝術空間是香港首屈一指的當代藝術空間,也是亞洲歷史最悠久、最活躍的獨立藝術中心,目標是透過舉辦展覽、出版刊物、實踐論述計畫等,鍛煉出對本地及國際間藝術與社會現象的批判性理解。

Para Site藝術空間於1996年初由香港藝術家成立,是香港第一個當代藝術機構,也是香港回歸中國前不確定的年代下,香港公民社會的重要自發性組織。經過多年發展,Para Site藝術空間已是專業級的當代藝術中心,常與其他香港及國際藝術機構、博物館、雙年展、學術單位合作,舉辦各類活動。

Para Site藝術空間歷年活動形式多元,包括管理另一個規模較小的展覽空間「中環寄隅」,位於漢雅軒畫廊內(1997-2008);出版香港首本雙語視覺藝術雜誌《P/S》(1997-2006),為發展香港藝術寫作及論述氛圍提供中央平台;舉辦策展訓練計畫(2007-2010)。