:::

Database / Ting Shuo Hear Say

back

Ting Shuo Hear Say

Taiwan / Tainan
Established 2016

  • Ting Shuo Hear Say's Artist
  • Ting Shuo Hear Say's Lecture
  • Ting Shuo Hear Say's Event
  • Ting Shuo Hear Say's Event Site
Ting Shuo Hear Say was founded in 2016, run by Alice Hui-Sheng Chang and Nigel Brown. They have been making experimental music since 2003. They both have a Master of Fine Arts degree in Sound from RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia in 2006. Alice has also completed a Masters in Therapeutic Arts Practice from MIECAT, Melbourne, Australia in 2014.

Ting Shuo Hear Say is the only space in Taiwan that its main purpose is to promote sound art and experimental music. It engages with a diverse community through encouraging participation and encounters with contemporary listening and sound creation practices from around the world.
Since most of the resources and artists gather in northern Taiwan (in the metro area), Ting Shuo actively expands the southern sound making communities by hosting a variety of events for stimulation and inspirations.

"Ting Shuo has Performances series" is hosted regularly, by inviting artists from different cultural or creative backgrounds to collaborate and improvise together. Since 2016, the organization has already invited artists from countries including Hong Kong, Japan, China, South Korea, Australia, Singapore, Canada, Austria, Germany, France, Belgium, United Kingdom, Sweden, Norway, Czech Republic, United States, and Chile, etc.

Since 2020, Ting Shuo also launched an online music album, publishing its recorded music from Taiwanese collaborative groups. It will continue to publish various AIR works online or physically in the future.

Experienced artists from different backgrounds come to Tainan to provide numerous types of workshops and talks. Irregularly, they offer the opportunity for local people who are interested in sound and experimental music to learn from their abundant and skillful practices. Ting Shuo Hear Say is a two-way opening door to connect artists as well as to encourage the local communities to learn and study steadily.

Since the beginning of the establishment, Ting Shuo Hear Say grows and expands continuously. From promoting sound art education programs, connecting local communities, and working with different groups to have cross-culture and cross-disciplines collaborations. The studio aims to become a platform for residency now. The residency project, Ting Shuo Tainan AIR, will provide an experimental space for participatory art. The artists will have a more in-depth dialogue with Tainan communities.

In the first few years, the curatorial focus will be on:
.Sound and listening related art practices
.Experimental or cross-discipline research or work
.Process-orientated and participatory community project
.Practice involved with the environment, cultures, communities, space or sites in Tainan and its surroundings

The "Ting Shuo Tainan AIR" provides artist fee, free studio, and accommodation. There are piano, PA speakers, projector, desks, and chairs for use. The sound mixing studio is also available to use with assistance.

Meanwhile, Ting Shuo Tainan AIR is open for applications. Experimental artists, with one's own funding, can discuss with the Ting Shuo about their projects and submit residency proposals all year, and discover all kinds of possibilities of working in Tainan. The projects can be related to sound or other interdisciplinary experimental performance or contemporary arts. The work or research can be related to Tainan’s local culture, community, history, sites or environment. Ting Shuo’s space is also available for various projects to hire as rehearsal or collaborative space.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 聽說聲音工作室

回上一頁

聽說聲音工作室

臺灣 / 臺南
創立時間 2016

  • 聽說聲音工作室活動現場
  • 聽說聲音工作室講座
  • 聽說聲音工作室藝術家
  • 聽說聲音工作室活動
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
聽說聲音工作室於2016年成立,由張惠笙與 Nigel Brown 共同合作。兩人皆由2003年開始創作實驗音樂作品,兩人畢業於澳洲墨爾本皇家墨爾本科技大學 (RMIT) ,於2006年完成純藝術碩士,主修聲音。於2014年,惠笙也於澳洲墨爾本 MIECAT 學院完成了藝術治療碩士。

聽說聲音工作室,是臺灣唯一以推廣聲音藝術、實驗音樂為主的空間。透過參與及接觸各國當代聆聽及聲音創作的方式,連結在地多元族群;同時,經由舉辦各類型活動,擴大聲音藝術創作的社群,讓資源與創作者不再單一集中於北部。

「聽說有表演系列」為常態性活動,邀請國內外聲音藝術家,進行共演或合作,不同國籍間的藝術家能在不同的創作脈絡和文化背景相互交流。2016年迄今,已邀請過多國的創作者,包含來自香港、日本、中國、南韓、澳洲、新加坡、加拿大、奧地利、德國、法國、比利時、英國、瑞典、挪威、捷克、美國、智利等地。

聽說於2020年開始錄製臺灣聲音合作團隊,出版線上專輯。未來將持續發表不同的駐村創作作品於線上或實體出版。

聽說亦邀請跨領域且擁有豐富創作背景與經驗的藝術家來到臺南,由他們設計不同類型的工作坊或舉辦講座,不定期開放給在地對聲音、實驗音樂有興趣的人參與。聽說是一扇雙向開啟的大門,一方連結藝術家,另一方成為讓在地社群能夠持續吸收及進學的場域。

從成立至今,聽說聲音工作室從推廣聲音藝術教育,連結在地社群,到與不同領域的團體進行跨文化、跨媒材的合作。工作室現轉為駐村平台,以「聽說駐聲音藝術」計畫提供參與式的創作實驗空間,讓藝術家和臺南在地社群可以更深度的交流並共創。

前幾年將由聽說的團隊策展徵選,駐村創作包括以下幾個方向:
.聲音或聆聽相關的藝術研究
.實驗性強,或跨領域研究的創作
.重過程導向,與社群參與式的計畫
.實踐關注臺南及其周邊的環境、文化、社群、空間與場域

此計畫更提供創作費、免費的工作室及住宿,創作空間有鋼琴、PA喇叭、投影機、桌、椅等可借用,另有混音工作室可在有人的協助下使用。

駐村計畫同時也常年開放各界實驗創作者,以自行申請補助經費的方式提案駐村,可與聽說團隊討論發展在臺南駐村創作的多樣可能性。計畫可與聲音相關,或是各種跨界實驗表演、當代藝術等,與臺南在地的文化、社群、歷史、地域、生態環境等有合作或研究的駐村可能皆可討論。聽說的空間也開放不同計畫排練或創作可租借使用。