:::

Database / Cove Park

back

Cove Park

UK / Scotland
Established 1999

  • Cove Park's Artist
  • Cove Park's Studio
  • Cove Park's Building
  • Cove Park's Square
Cove Park is an artist’s residency centre located on an outstanding rural site on Scotland's west coast. Our residencies support the development of new work by national and international artists, groups and organisations working in all art forms.
Cove Park’s unique programme of residencies, commissions and collaborative projects respond to and support the diversity of contemporary artistic practice in all the art forms. We host national and international artists from all cultures and career stages. We create a supportive and stimulating context in which new work and ideas can be developed, tested and shared. The bespoke and award-winning spaces we provide for residents and visitors to live, meet and work in, are located on an outstanding site overlooking Loch Long and the Firth of Clyde, just one hour from Glasgow, on Scotland’s west coast.
Founded in 1999 by Peter and Eileen Jacobs, Cove Park is a charity funded by Creative Scotland, by trusts and foundations and by the generosity of individuals. Since 2000, Cove Park has hosted over 1,500 artists.
We develop residency programmes in partnership with leading national and international companies, art schools and organisations, including Arts Initiative Tokyo, Fuel Theatre, Glasgow School of Art, The Lighthouse, National Theatre of Scotland, The Royal Opera House and Sadler’s Wells. We host and facilitate residencies devised and led by prominent organisations, such as BBC Scotland, Cryptic and Playwrights Studio Scotland. We also commission new work and work collaboratively with partners on major international projects such as Scotland + Venice 2019.
Cove Park offers both funded and independently funded residencies throughout the year. We also work in partnership with national and international arts organisations, curators and producers to develop special residential projects.




Who’s Been There


HUNG Li-Ching (Amang)
A woman raised on the East coast of Taiwan. A woman who writes poems, hikes, and films, who likes bare feet and everything wild. Her poems were published in Asia and the United States. So far she published four poetry collections: on/off, No Daddy, Chariots of Women, and So Many People Die While I’m Hugging You Tightly.

Artist’s Residency Experience:

Cove Park, where the Scottish Highlands begins, is located on a remote peninsula. The quiet site, which faces Loch Long, has slopes of verdant grass where cows and sheep roam. Colorful algae, pebbles, and shells scatter across the coast, whose tidal range is as much as eight meters. The scenery here is dazzling. I often went across the grass slopes, hiked to the river valleys, strolled along the coast barefooted, and biked along the coastal roads. To me, such physical labor compliments the hard labor of my creative work.

My first lesson here is the weather. While researching on Cove Park in Taiwan, I learned that the average temperature here in May is between 5-15 degrees Celsius, so I brought a lot of winter clothes with me. Nevertheless, it was 23 degrees when I got off the plane. I was sweating in the excessive garments that I wore. The next day, however, it rained, and the temperature dropped. I even put on a scarf and a wool hat. It was sunny on the third day, and I went out to film. Heavy rain suddenly arrived, and my fingers were frozen stiff that I couldn't unbutton my shorts in the toilet. On the fourth day, rain clouds filled the sky in the morning, so I cancelled my filming plan. As it turned out, by 4 pm, the clouds and the mist had disappeared, and the weather couldn't have gotten better! Each day, the weather taught me a little bit more: be swift, be present, be humble, and be ready.

There are no stores near Cove Park. The closest shop is fifteen minutes’ drive away; a round trip on a bicycle takes about an hour (including a ride up and down steep slopes). Here, nothing can distract an artist's work but highland cattle, birds, and the ever-changing scenery by the lake. If I wanted to eat, I had to order the ingredients online, receive the delivered packages, and cook for myself. (Residency is, in a way, beneficial to the local economy.) The countertop where the stove sits is too tall for me - at the height of 156 cm, I couldn't see everything in the pot standing on my toes. I had to utilize my senses of hearing, smell, and intuition just to cook properly. The stove and the pot, again, posed a form of physical training for me that compliments the labor of my creative work.

The administrative staff at Cove Park offers sufficient support as well as significant flexibility for the artists-in-residence. They seem to understand that, artists swing, like a pendulum, between caring about nothing but their work and the need to socialize. It depends on the state of mind and the progress of their work. Therefore, the activity center at Cove Park has a common hall and a large kitchen, where artists could cook and dine together. They could exchange the pains and joys of artistic work. Or, since the individual studios are equipped with smaller kitchens, artists could prepare simple meals there. For a month of residency, there were one barbecue and two potlucks organized by various people. I participated in two of the events, but I had to miss the third. Because I had spent the entire day thinking, and I had to ride out to clear my head. Some artists, however, trapped themselves in the studios, and interacted with no one. In short, artists and creators each have their pet peeves, tempo, and ways of doing things, and Cove Park can accommodate all.

The focus of my residency is to experiment on my video poetry. I wanted to reverse the creative process: In the past, I usually started with texts before editing and piecing the footage together. This time, I wanted to start with audio or visual content before adding texts (or not adding any writing at all). I wanted to see whether the reversed process would produce anything different; more organic, even. I wonder if I could sharpen my senses for sounds and images. (I have worked on texts for the longest, video second, while only paying attention to sounds recently.) I especially wanted to focus on sounds. I feel that, for our generation, the omnipresence of smartphones forces us to rely heavily on sight more than ever, while we rely less and less on hearing. Last year, I suddenly became interested in the strangers in my body - my ears. I decided to practice listening by opening my ears and closing my eyes. It was, at first, just a random thought, but had led me to several exciting encounters, which motivated me to experiment on reversing my creative process.

The sound scene at Cove Park was quite unique. I was surprised listening to the birdsong here; the birdsong in Taiwan is rich and diverse, but something was distinctly different at Cove Park. Which is it? I carried that unanswered question with me. It wasn’t until days later that I understood all at once. A space is like a vessel, each with its distinctive shape, which allows energy flows in various forms at various speeds. A space encourages the body (the ears) to adjust, allowing the sounds to go through. Such realization, to me, is not acquired through texts, derived from a formula, or "learned." Instead, the idea dawned on me as a physical experience. It is an epiphany occurred to me only because I was physically present, and I felt the difference myself.

When I collect sounds and images with my camcorder in the wild, I also noticed that smell is the most essential element that cannot be captured or recorded. Cove Park in May enjoys blossoms of golden gorse flowers. Local residents told me that the flowers smell like coconut in warm weather. As I have a sensitive nose, I feel that in warm days as well as cold days, the flowers give off a luscious coconut smell. But the camcorder is entirely useless on this front; only my allergic, runny nose that sneezes and my brain could capture and record the scent. On another note, the colors captured by the camcorder were off, too. The colors did resemble real flowers after adjustments, but they are still artistically inaccurate. A seemingly almighty camcorder is useless in capturing smells, useless in recreating the effects of colors on a human body, and useless in conveying an open space! This reminds me, though, that creating art starts where no instruments could do the work for you. You limp forward, bit by bit, attempting to create something just as our omnipotent maker of the universe. Of course, there is no way for us to reach that goal; but we dare to dream of approaching that incredible fear and joy, beyond imagination, of creation. Creating art starts where no instruments could do the work for you until you could no longer work.

It is worth applauding that the residency is the first collaboration between Taiwan and Cove Park in the UK. Most artists in Taiwan participated in literature residencies in the US because of the close ties between the two countries. Taiwan is deeply influenced by American culture as well due to historical context while other parts of the world were often left neglected. This residency is an opportunity for us to connect with Europe, allowing artists to expand their horizon. We got to exchange with European artists, knowing more about them and showing them about us. It is such a joy!

The staff members of this project offer generous and swift assistance to each of my inquiries. I am very much appreciative. As a lucky “lab rat” for the residency, I have two recommendations for future improvement:
1. Allow artist-in-residence to contact Cove Park directly as soon as possible. Unless there is a language barrier, streamlining the process could save a lot of time.
2. It was my first time visiting Europe, not to mention that Cove Park is not a typical tourist attraction, I spent about two weeks getting to know the environment and communicating with local residents before diving into my work. I feel that a one-month residency is too short, and it's a shame that the experience ended hastily. Six weeks to two months would be more ideal; this way, the plane tickets would be more worthwhile.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 灣園

回上一頁

灣園

英國 / 蘇格蘭
創立時間 1999

  • 灣園廣場
  • 灣園藝術家
  • 灣園建築
  • 灣園工作室
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
灣園是座藝術家駐村中心,坐落於蘇格蘭西岸,風景絕佳的鄉村地區。我們的駐村計畫支持以各種藝術形式創作的國內外藝術家、團體和組織在此發展新作。
灣園獨特的駐村、委任和合作計畫能夠回應並支援以各種藝術形式呈現,多樣化的當代藝術實踐,樂於接待來自不同文化和職業背景的國內外藝術家。我們打造出友善勵志的環境,供藝術家發展、測試、共享新的作品和創意。我們為駐村藝術家和訪客量身打造的空間屢獲獎項肯定,地理位置得天獨厚,能夠俯瞰長湖(Loch Long)和克萊德灣(Firth of Clyde),距離蘇格蘭西岸的格拉斯哥僅一小時車程。
由Peter與Eileen Jacobs於1999年成立的灣園,是由Creative Scotland、信託基金會和個人共同贊助的慈善機構。自2000年至今,灣園已接待過1,500多名藝術家。
我們與國內外領導性企業、藝術院校及組織合作推出駐村計畫,包括Arts Initiative Tokyo、Fuel Theatre、格拉斯哥藝術學院、Lighthouse、蘇格蘭國立劇院、皇家歌劇院和Sadler’s Wells等。我們接待並協助如BBC Scotland、Cryptic和Playwrights Studio Scotland等知名團體設計領導的駐村計畫。我們同時委託合作夥伴創作新作品,或是共同合作大型國際專案,如Scotland + Venice 2019等。
灣園全年歡迎接受贊助或獨立藝術家駐村。我們同時與國內外藝術組織、策展人和製作人合作開發特殊駐村方案。




駐村心得


洪麗卿(阿芒)
臺灣東海岸長大的女人。寫詩、爬山、拍片。喜歡光著腳,喜歡所有野的。詩作在亞洲、美國發表。目前出版四本詩選:《on/off》《沒有爹》《女戰車 Chariots of Women》《我緊緊抱你的時候這世界好多人死》。
駐村心得:

灣園 (Cove Park) 位於蘇格蘭高地的起點,一個僻靜的半島上,面朝長湖,山坡草原豐美,牛羊自放自牧,海岸潮差可達八公尺,廣布多彩的海藻、 礫石、螺、貝,非常迷人。我常橫越草坡,尋訪溪谷,也常赤腳走海岸,或在濱海公路騎自行車放風。對我來說,這些體力活非常能「均衡鍛鍊創作的肌肉」。

氣候給我上了第一課。在臺灣查此地均溫,五月約攝氏5-15度,帶了很多冬衣,結果下飛機時23度,穿多了汗如雨下。隔天真的下雨,氣溫驟降,甚至戴起了圍巾、毛帽。第三日,天晴,出外拍攝,遇暴雨,手凍到解不開短褲鈕扣如廁,第四日,一早天空烏雲密佈,打消出外取景念頭,下午四點後卻雲消霧散,天光大好!每天天氣都教我一點:即時、當下、謙卑、準備好自己。

灣園附近沒有商家,最近的也要十五分鐘車程,騎自行車來回約一小時(含陡坡),只有來造訪的高原牛、鳥兒和變幻不定的湖光天色最讓人分心。煮食得先上網訂購食材,收貨後親自下廚料理(駐村也能活絡當地經濟)。擺放火爐的料理檯甚高,156cm的身高讓我踮起腳還看不全鍋裡的食材,要善用聽、聞,第六感,才能煮出像樣的飯菜,這深鍋高爐,又一項「鍛鍊創作肌肉」的均衡運動。

灣園的行政隊伍給創作者必要的支援,也給出非常大的彈性,他們似乎相當了解,創作者有時會在六親不認只認創作和社交需求間拉扯,端看當時心境,也看創作進展,所以灣園的活動中心有交誼廳和大廚房,駐村者可以共同煮食,談天說地,分享創作甘苦,而在各自的工作室也有小廚房可以簡單烹煮。我駐村的這個月,由不同人發起一次烤肉、兩次共煮,我參加了兩回,第三回因為苦思整日非得騎車放風不可,來不及參與。也有人從頭到尾都在工作室埋頭苦行,神龍見首不見尾,總之,創作者各有各的怪僻、節奏和風格,灣園都能容納。


這次我的駐村重點,是進行個人影像詩的新實驗,想逆轉從前由文字作為核心發動,再剪輯影像組織完成的過程,換成從聲音或影像開動,最後再寫文字(或不寫),看看這種過程會帶出什麼,是否更有機呢?是否能讓自己對聲音和影像更敏銳?(我進入文字創作歷程最久,影像其次,聲音是近期開始關注的)

尤其是聲音,我覺得這代人因為手機普及,對視覺更加依賴,耳朵更聾了,去年我突然對我身體裡的陌生人---我的耳朵---發生興趣,決定練習閉起眼睛,張開耳朵,這起心動念,牽起好多有趣的因緣,也成為催生我逆轉創作過程的一個主要動機。灣園的「音景」獨特,聆聽這裡的鳥鳴讓我驚訝,臺灣也有變化豐富的鳥鳴,但某種品質使兩者在一個點徹底分開來了,究竟是什麼呢?我把這問題放到心裡,隨身帶著,忽然在某日某刻,突然通了,哦,空間就像形狀不同的容器,它讓能量以不同形式、不同速度流轉,它讓耳朵(身體)不自覺地隨之微調、變形,讓聽者和聲音彼此容納、進入。這對我來說,不是文字、公式、不是「學到的」,是降臨的,一種身體經驗,一種非得出發到某地,才能經由對照接收到的靈啟。
當帶著攝錄機出去野地收集聲音、影像,還發現氣味最深入,卻無法捕捉。灣園的五月,草坡上是金黃怒放的 gorse 花,當地居民告訴我這花在暖天時會散發椰子香氣,鼻子敏感的我,卻覺得無論天熱天冷,椰子香都沁人心脾,但攝錄機徹底無能,只有我會打噴嚏、流鼻水的爛鼻子和腦裡轉旋著的磁帶可以參與。另外,攝錄機捕捉的花色很有色差,經過調整後雖然比較接近,但在藝術上仍然不準確!看似厲害的攝錄機對氣味一點辦法都沒有,對顏色激起的腺體反應一點辦法都沒有,也對開闊景物的規格一點辦法都沒有!這提醒我,創作就是要在那個器械沒有辦法的地方開始,一跛一跛地,企圖接近宇宙全能的創造,雖不能至,仍妄想接近那無法形容、超乎想像的恐懼和喜悅。 創作就是要在那個器械沒有辦法的地方開始,直至人的沒有辦法。

這是第一次臺灣和英國灣園合作,值得喝采!以往文學的駐村地都在美國,臺灣因為歷史因緣,和美國關係緊密,受美國文化影響較深,常忽略世界的其他板塊,這回能連線到歐洲,讓作家有機會經由駐村擴大視野、增加交流,也能讓歐洲人看見我們,感受我們,真值得喝采!
負責專案的人員沒有一絲官僚氣息,很樂意且每回都能迅速解答我的疑惑,非常感激!
身為第一隻幸運的白老鼠,有兩點建議,希望往後駐村更完善:
1 儘早讓駐村者和灣園直接聯繫,不用透過兩層轉接,能節省更多時間(除非駐村者語言能力無法勝任)
2 因為第一次到歐洲,(灣園也不是一般旅客會到的地方)這次我約有兩週的時間花在認識、探索周邊環境,和居民交流,然後才開始進入創作思索,感覺一個月時間太短太匆促,預估至少要六週或兩個月比較從容適當,也不會浪費昂貴的機票。