:::

Database / Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)

back

Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)

Thailand / Chiang Mai
Established 2012

  • Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)'s Event
  • Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)'s Building Exterior
  • Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)'s Building
  • Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)'s Art Work
  • Subhashok the Arts Centre (S.A.C.)'s Studio
Subhashok The Arts Center (S.A.C.) is a private contemporary art space, founded in 2012 by Mr. Subhashok Angsuvarnsiri and managed by the Angsuvarnsiri family. Situated on Sukhumvit 39, in the heart of Bangkok with a total area of 2,100 sq.m. S.A.C. exhibits contemporary works of art by Thai and Asian artists in various forms and also organize art and cultural activities such as lectures, forums, workshops, and cultural exchanges and panel discussions. The main objective is to promote young and emerging Thai and South East Asian contemporary artists to the international audience, with the aim to bring Thai culture to the global stage as well as to contribute to the art scene in Thailand to be greater and more diverse.

In addition to the exhibition space in Bangkok, S.A.C. has also expanded the contribution to the arts scene in Thailand by establishing two art projects in Chiang Mai in November 2017. S.A.C. Art Lab is an exhibition space located in the heart of Chiang Mai which is geared towards experimented works as well as research pieces. The other project is S.A.C. Residency Program which is located in Mae Rim, just 11 km from Chiang Mai city centre. S.A.C. offers an opportunity and a base for artists who are willing to create their art in a different cultural and art surrounding to gain their experience from different cultures. S.A.C. wish to establish a relationship of trust, partnership and collaboration and sees the residency as a chance where, together with the artists, to find the best way to enable and carry out each project.

S.A.C. residency program has no age nor nationality limits for the applicants, however, the applicants must speak English and have at least 8 years of studio experiences. The selection process will take into consideration the originality and coherence of the project proposal as well as the applicant’s specific artistic inquiry, and the applicant’s willingness to participate in the S.A.C. community along with the realistic achievability of the project within the time frame and budget given.

The artists may wish to bring some works to finish in the residency. S.A.C. will arrange an exhibition for the artists during the residency period. Depending on the quality and quantity of the artwork, it will be either a group or solo exhibition. Exhibition date will be decided during the residency. The exhibition will be held by Subhashok, The Arts Centre in Bangkok, S.A.C. Art Lab in Chiang Mai or partner galleries.

For the past eight years, S.A.C. has arranged over 100 exhibitions and joined more than 20 international art fairs under the name of S.A.C. Gallery Bangkok, to promote Thai artists and their works. So far, S.A.C. has conducted 6 cycles of artists and curators-in-residence with a total of 17 residents, and Taiwanese artist Ho, Hoa participated in the 6th Cycle from November 2019 to January 2020.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 沙巴索藝術中心

回上一頁

沙巴索藝術中心

泰國 / 清邁
創立時間 2012

  • 沙巴索藝術中心活動
  • 沙巴索藝術中心建築外觀
  • 沙巴索藝術中心作品
  • 沙巴索藝術中心工作室
  • 沙巴索藝術中心建築
上ㄧ張
下ㄧ張
沙巴索藝術中心(簡稱S.A.C)是一間私人經營的當代藝術空間,2012年由Subhashok Angsuvarnsiri先生成立,並由其家族管理。中心佔地2,100平方公尺(約635坪),位於曼谷心臟地區的蘇坤蔚路39巷 (Sukhumvit 39)。S.A.C籌辦泰國及亞洲當代藝術家的作品展,也規劃各種形式的文化藝術活動,例如,講座、論壇、工作坊、文化交流以及座談會等等。主要目標在將泰國與東南亞的當代新銳藝術家介紹給國際藝術好愛者、將泰國文化帶到世界舞台上,為泰國藝術界做出更大更多元的貢獻。

沙巴索藝術中心對泰國藝術界的貢獻,除了在曼谷的藝廊之外,更擴展至清邁,於2017年11月在當地創立了兩個藝術計畫。第一個計畫是「沙巴索藝術實驗室」,—座落在清邁市中心的展覽空間,主要針對實驗性以及研究中的作品。第二個計畫是「沙巴索藝術中心駐村計畫」,位於距清邁市中心大約11公里的湄林縣。這個駐村計畫提供了一個創作基地,讓願意到不同文化及環境中創作的藝術家吸取經驗。S.A.C希望藉此與藝術家們建立一個能夠相互信任、視為夥伴的合作的關係;也將此駐村計畫視為一個機會,能與藝術家一起找到實踐每一個創作計畫的最佳方法。
沙巴索藝術中心的駐村計畫沒有限制申請者的年齡或國籍,惟申請者必須會說英文,並且擁有8年以上工作室的創作經驗。評選的標準端看計畫的原創性與整體連貫性、申請者具體的藝術性探討研究、參與S.A.C活動意願,以及是否能在有限的時間和預算內完成作品等可行性的評估。

藝術家也可帶著未完成的作品在駐村期間繼續創作。最終,視作品的質量,沙巴索藝術中心將會為駐村藝術家舉辦個展或是聯展,展期在藝術家來到藝術村後討論決定,並在駐村期間展出。展覽將由沙巴索藝術中心位於曼谷的藝廊或是位於清邁的藝術實驗室主辦,也可能由其他合作畫廊舉辦。

沙巴索藝術中心成立的八年期間,曾經籌劃超過100場的展覽,也參加超過20場的國際藝術博覽會,致力於推廣泰國藝術家以及他們的作品。截至目前為止,舉辦過6屆藝術家與策展人的駐村計畫,邀請過17位藝術家參與,臺灣藝術家何灝更於2019年11月至2020年01月參與了第六屆駐村計畫。