:::

Database / Contemporary Arts International (CAI)

back

Contemporary Arts International (CAI)

USA / Massachusetts
Established 1999

CAI’s art ground “The Quarry” is a laboratory for visual and performing arts. The goal of CAI is to provide artists with the necessary resources to develop and realize ambitious projects and ideas. The art grounds include a 7,000 square feet multi-purpose studio building contains two galleries, one classroom, one multidisciplinary performance hall and acres of outdoor working space equipped with industrial electricity, water, and machinery such as compressors, lifts, bobcat and welder. In the main hall lives “The Container Man”, a sculptural stage that carries its own sound system and multi-media technology capable for creating multi-disciplinary performance. The CAI facilities are established to serve the following programs: Artist-Residency, Symposium, Art Education, the Container Man Project and Exhibition. There are 3 residency rooms in the main hall. At any given time, the residency can serve 5 artists. The Programs are symbiotic; none of them stand alone without the benefit from the others.



Residency fee's is US$1,500/per month with the following service and condition:
• FOOD: self-provide
• HOUSING: private bedroom, wireless Internet, shared bathroom, office, living room, kitchen, laundry facility
• STUDIO: shared
• FACILITIES: choice of outdoor working locations, heavy equipment with operator available when needed
• MATERIALS: artist self-provide; however some materials such as granite, wood, and recycled metals are available to resident artists
• EXHIBITION: will be held whenever possible (a solo show can be arranged)
• TRANSPORTATION: pick up and deliver to/fro Boston Logan Airport at the time of arrival/departure.
CAI is surrounded by nearly 100 acres of beautifully maintained trailed Town forest and Recreation Park with weekly outdoor concerts and culture programs. A 1.5-acre pond in the middle of the art grounds offers artistic meeting places and recreational possibilities.

The strength of CAI as an art organization in the global context is the international network. Its two directors Yin Peet and Viktor Lois were both first-generation immigrant artists, respectively from Taiwan and Hungary, with international experience and connections to both foreign and US peers. This assured vitality of networks in Asia and Europe ultimately benefits the US and international artists.




Who’s Been There


CHANG Yu-Chia
http://yuchiachang.com/

WOODY WOODY (solo exhibition)
CHANG Yu-Chia, born in Taipei, 1983. He is graduated from Master Program, Dept. of Art in National Changhua University of Education. He was resident artist in Stock 20 in 2009-2011. Then he went to Contemporary Arts International near Boston for residency in 2012. His works are kept in the collection of National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung City Seaport Art Center, and National Art Bank.

Artist Statement: WOODY WOODY:







WOODY WOODY originated from works created during my 6-month residency at Contemporary Arts International, Boston sponsored by the Taiwan Ministry of Culture in 2012. This series is different from my previous creations in Taiwan. My earlier works carry a cold and technological tonality. This tendency shifted during my residency at CAI and, influenced by the local environment and culture, I started on my new series. WOODY WOODY was inspired by the open natural environment and its theme was constructed by the living experiences and interpersonal relationships. I continued with this strand of thought still after returning to Taiwan.



The idea for the presentation of this series comes from a big wooden bookshelf that I made for myself in the CAI studio. Lumber materials were very accessible and of good quality there. I began using wood in my everyday making. Whenever there was new work being made, I would put it on the big wooden bookshelf. At first I thought it looked nice all together. Then I realized that my pieces were of similar scale as ordinary books. The bookshelf for displaying my work became almost like a stage on which my pieces became characters for performance of unlimited possibilities. A later project in Taiwan, Mythology in the Study Room, was inspired from this realization.



Through WOODY WOODY, I wanted to rekindle my audience’s affection for simplicity in candid materials as well as in the handmade process. I noticed the popularity of new media art and the detachment of modern day people’s lives from books and study rooms. Therefore, I hoped to bring warmth back to the hearts that have become cold from detachment and indifference in our urban life. This feeling of warmness was exactly what I wanted to bring back to Taiwan after my residency.

Luckily, I successfully made a new series during my residency in America. Perhaps the new work was only a small beginning to something else, but I was still happy about freeing myself of my old practices. I was completely clueless about what to do and make after my military service. Then, I did not pay much attention to how the environment shaped an artist either. After arriving in America, however, I found myself inspired by the climate, geography, and natural environment of the area in which I was living. My everyday experiences there changed the way I worked and became the new groundwork for my new series. Many new ideas even came from my time spent on public transportations. I believe that the ‘nutrients’ for my new work really came from the US, a refreshing country for my development due to its environment, its people, its culture, etc. that motivated my creativity. I found my energy and passion for making art once again through this residency.

:::

進駐單位資料庫 / 當代藝術國際中心

回上一頁

當代藝術國際中心

美國 / 麻薩諸塞州
創立時間 1999

波士頓當代國際藝術中心(CAI) 提供必要資源讓藝術家發展、實踐企圖心。
本中心包含7,000平方呎多工能工作室,包括2間藝廊、1間教室、1間多功能表演廳以及數英畝戶外工作空間,備有工業用水電以及機械設備如壓縮機、起重機、山貓挖土機與焊接工具。表演廳裡面住著「貨櫃人」這個雕塑舞台有獨立音響系統和多媒體科技,可以創造跨領域演出。當代藝術國際根據駐村計畫、座談、藝術教育、貨櫃人計畫以及展覽設置設備。在主場館,有3 個駐村房間。在駐村期間,藝術村可以容納5位藝術家。計畫皆為共生計畫,所有駐村者都能夠從彼此獲得助益。

每個月 1,500 美金的駐村費用包含以下服務與條件:

• 食物:自助
• 住宿:個人房間、無線網路、共用浴室、辦公室、客廳、廚房、洗衣設備。
• 個人工作室:共享使用。
• 設施:可選擇有操作員的的戶外工作地點。
• 材料:藝術家自備,部分材料如花崗岩、木材以及回收媒材可供駐村藝術家使用。
• 展覽:不定期舉辦(可安排個展。)
• 交通:協助波士頓機場接送。

本中心受到接近1000英尺絕美綠意環繞,鄰近小鎮與休閒公園,每週有戶外表演與文化活動。1.5英尺池塘在藝術園地中央,提供藝術聚會與休閒的場景。

在全球環境下,CAI的優勢就是國際網絡。創辦人Yin Peet與Viktor Lois 是來自臺灣與匈牙利的第一代移民。擁有國際經驗以及連結海外與美國的人脈。
這個充滿生命力的網絡美國與國際藝術家擁有橫跨歐亞的能見度。




駐村心得


張育嘉
http://yuchiachang.com/

《WOODY WOODY》個展
張育嘉,1983年出生於臺北,2010年畢業於彰化師範大學美術系研究所。2009-2011年為臺中20號倉庫鐵道藝術村駐站藝術家、2012年前往美國波士頓國際當代藝術中心駐村。作品收藏在國立美術館、臺中港區藝術中心和文化部藝術銀行購藏計畫。


駐村心得:

我開始從事創作起始於2008年,我擅長以自身的獨特造型能力為出發,落足於紙本並往各種不同媒材發展,並不對作品形式作任何設限,作品面像包含繪畫、機械裝置、新媒體、雕塑、等媒材,內容都聚焦於藝術家個人生活經驗及人際關係的感受,並利用自身為媒介去表現出許多不可用言語所言喻的生活感受,企圖以輕鬆自在的藝術形式去喚醒群眾的共同感官認知。

《WOODY WOODY》系列創作源自於2012年六月接受文化部補助的人才交流計劃,遠赴美國的波士頓CAU藝術村駐村半年所創作出來的新系列創作,這系列有別於之前我在臺灣之前的系列創作,之前的創作調性是充滿科技及城市冷調性的創作,不過我在赴美駐村之後因為當地的環境文化的影響,開啟我這個新系列的創作,內容大都是在當地感受自然及開放的環境而創作出來的作品,主題也都圍繞生活經驗和人際關係上,在返台之後也繼續延續這個系列。

形式上因在美國駐村時我創作這個系列作品時,工作室內有一個自己釘的大原木書架,而也因為當地木頭原料質量良好跟容易取得,我開始用原木來創作而在我每天的創作中,當有創作新的作品都會將新作品擺放上大書架,起初感覺只是因為好看但後來發現自己作品的大小其實跟書本的大小很類似,而且因為作品在書架擺放陳列的各種變化讓書架似乎變成一個舞台,而我所創作的角色便在這個舞台上上演無限可能的舞台劇,這也在回台之後衍生出書架神話這個概念。

最主要我希望在這系列去喚醒藝術觀眾對純粹材質及手繪的感動,因為目前的主流是以新媒體藝術當道,另一方面現代人對書籍甚至書房的認知跟感覺也越趨薄弱,期待能夠溫暖都會中因為冷漠而逐漸失溫的人心,也是我希望在駐村後希望給臺灣的感受。

這次在美國駐村很幸運的我成功創作出了一個新的系列創作,雖然也許只是一個開頭,不過我最開心的事情是我從舊的系列走出來並走出了新的系列,因為在我剛當完兵時,對創作是一籌莫展完全沒有新的想法,而且以前對環境影響藝術家這件事情我並有太大的感覺,不過到美國之後由於這邊的氣候地理環境完全與臺灣不同,所以讓我在創作上有很大的改變,而這次創作的內容主要也都是以我在美國每天的生活體驗為靈感來創作出來的,也有許多是在旅行時搭乘交通工具時想到的靈感,我想這一系列的創作養分真的是來自美國這個新鮮的國家,而能讓我產生創作動機的能量也是這裡的環境跟人文涵養為主要的媒介,也是藉由這次的駐村的機會讓我在重拾對創作的活力與熱情。