calls

Photo Credit: Ze Wei

The 2023 LMCC Arts Center Residency OPEN CALL

The 2023 LMCC Arts Center Residency OPEN CALL
Deadline 2022.12.13
Results Available Date Late February, 2023
Website The 2023 LMCC Arts Center Residency OPEN CALL Website
More About Residency Lower Manhattan Cultural Council
The Arts Center at Governors Island is home to year-round artist residency programs for artists working in any discipline. LMCC’s residency programs aim to meet the immediate studio space needs of the artist community we serve by converting unconventional, vacant spaces into work and process space for artists. With the Arts Center at Governors Island, LMCC established our first permanent location for artistic process, presentation and gathering. LMCC’s residency programs are a vital part of our commitment to ensuring artists have free, collaborative space for creative development and production in New York City today and long into our shared futures.

The 2023 Arts Center Residency will offer residencies to artists and creative practitioners, currently in need of studio space to support their practice, who are interested in a short-term residency experience focused on experimentation, ongoing development, and being in dialogue with fellow residents. LMCC welcomes applications from artists whose practice is self-directed and process-based and would benefit from the unique resource of the Arts Center at Governors Island serving as an incubator for research and interdisciplinary collaboration.

More details: https://lmcc.submittable.com/submit/b99e5afd-58f4-415c-957e-fa6414144163/2023-arts-center-residency-application-form

Photo by David Sundberg/Esto.
Duration Session One: Monday, April 3 - Friday, July 28, 2023. Session Two: Monday, August 21 - Friday, December 15, 2023
Fields and Media Comic, Community Development, Craft, Cultural Heritage, Independent Curator, Literature, Movie and Pop Music, Museum, Other, Performance Art, Visual Art
Provided by Host Residency participants will be provided the following basic amenities: access to free, temporary, work space in LMCC’s Arts Center for 4 months; semi-private open floor plan studios - approximately 250 square feet; basic work tables and chairs, basic overhead lighting, electricity, Wi-Fi, heat & A/C.
Costs 1.Artists must provide and transport their own supplies and tools; restrictions apply. 2.Participants will be required to observe mandatory COVID-19 health and safety guidelines.
How to Apply Complete the Online Application Form:https://lmcc.submittable.com/submit/b99e5afd-58f4-415c-957e-fa6414144163/2023-arts-center-residency-application-form
Selection Procedure A jury comprised of former LMCC resident artists will review applications using the following selection criteria: 1.Artistic practice is driven by curiosity: where experimenting, questioning, learning, and understanding are valued in the artist’s creative development; 2. Artistic practice is process-oriented and research-based and would benefit from time and space to reflect and ponder in the retreat-like setting of Governors Island; 3.Clear intentions in residency and artistic goals, and ideas to be explored; 4.Willingness and interest in interdisciplinary collaboration and engagement in a community-oriented setting, of fellow artists and the larger public (when applicable); 5.A creative process that will flourish given space limitations (open plan, semi private, temporary walls).

駐村機會

圖片來源:駐村藝術家 魏澤

2023 年曼哈頓下城文化局 藝術中心駐村計畫

2023年 LMCC 藝術中心駐村計畫
截止日期 2022.12.13
結果公告日期 2023年2月下旬
網站 2023 年曼哈頓下城文化局 藝術中心駐村計畫網站
進駐單位介紹 曼哈頓下城文化局「工作空間」
位於加佛納斯島的曼哈頓下城文化局(下稱 LMCC)藝術中心是各領域藝術家常年駐村計畫的基地。藝術進駐計畫目標透過轉化非傳統的閒置空間為藝術家工作或創作發展的空間,滿足藝術家立即性的工作室空間需求。在加佛納斯島的藝術空間裡,LMCC 的藝術進駐計畫是我們確保藝術家在當今及未來紐約市擁有免費、合作的創作發展製作的重要承諾之一。
2023年 LMCC 藝術中心駐村計畫將提供藝術家住宿及目前工作空間所需提供藝術家協助的創意職業人員,他們對於短期駐村專注於實驗性、發展過程以及與駐村藝術家對話經驗感興趣。LMCC 歡迎自我導向、具歷程基礎,並且能夠從加佛納斯島藝術中心作為研究孵化器及跨領域合作所提供的特殊資源獲益的藝術家申請。

詳細資訊:https://lmcc.submittable.com/submit/b99e5afd-58f4-415c-957e-fa6414144163/2023-arts-center-residency-application-form

圖片:David Sundberg/Esto
進駐期間 上半年:4月3日至7月28日;下半年:8月21日至12月15日。
領域媒材 其他類, 博物館類, 工藝類, 影視及流行音樂類, 文化資產類, 文學類, 漫畫類, 獨立策展人類, 社區營造類, 表演藝術類, 視覺藝術類
單位提供 將提供駐村參與者以下基本設施: 4個月期間免費暫時性使用LMCC藝術中心的工作空間、約250英尺半開放樓層工作室、基本工作桌椅、基本燈具、電力、網路、冷暖氣機。
藝術家自付 1.藝術家須自付交通、補給、工具以及相關申請。2.參與者須遵守嚴重急性呼吸道傳染病(COVID-19)相關必要防疫措施。
申請方式 完成線上申請表:https://lmcc.submittable.com/submit/b99e5afd-58f4-415c-957e-fa6414144163/2023-arts-center-residency-application-form
審查機制 由 LMCC 前駐村藝術家組成的評審團將會根據以下標準進行審核:藝術實踐由具備對於藝術家創意發展求知欲驅動,包含:1.實驗、提問、學習與通曉;2.過程導向以及具備研究基礎的藝術實踐,並且在時空向度對於加佛納斯島的反思有所助益;3.明確的駐村企圖、藝術目標以及想法探索;4.對於駐村藝術家及更大公眾領域的跨領域合作以及社區營造有意願及興趣;5.具備充分發揮有限空間的創意過程等等。